Texas Learners Permit
Texas Learners Permit - Texas Drivers Permit
Ready to start driving? Obtaining a Texas learners permit is first step towards the streets and open highways of Texas. We will walk you through all the way: from studying the state driving rules and laws with Texas permit practice test questions and taking your Texas permit test to getting some driving hours behind your belt and exchanging your Texas drivers permit to a full scale unrestricted drivers license! All you have to do is to take the first step, obtaining the 2013 Texas driving permit has never been easier than today!
Minimum Requirements for Texas Learners Permit
We found that the main obstacle standing between teenagers and Texas learners permit is their age - most people start dreaming about driving once they turn 12 or 13. However, you ned to be at least 15 years old to apply for the Texas drivers permit. Plus, if you are under 18 years of age, you must be enrolled in or finish one of the Texas Texas drivers education courses before you can take your permit test at the Texas DPS office.
Upon the application for the drivers permit you will be required to present the following documents:
- Proof of social security number
- Proof of identity (such as your birth certificate)
- Proof of school attendance
- Proof of completion or proof of enrollment in a Texas certified drivers ed course
- Texas drivers license application form (must be signed by a parent)
Once at the Drivers license office, you will be required to take a Texas learners permit test, a vision exam and you will also have to pay the application fee for Texas learners permit, which currently amounts to $5. You may want to prepare for the permit test by reading the official Texas drivers permit handbook and taking this free Texas practice permit test. Please remember that this is not the only practice test that we offer and you can choose from a wide variety of sample permit exams, i.e. this Texas DMV practice test or this Texas drivers permit practice test. Try to take as many sample quizzes as possible to make sure you cover all driving rules and road signs, the goal is to make sure that there is virtually no Texas permit test question you can't answer!
Upon successful completion of the learners permit test, you will be granted your Texas driving permit.
Texas Drivers Permit Restrictions
Although your Texas learner's permit allows you to drive, you have to remember that it is not the unrestricted license and you have to abide to Texas learners permit restrictions. Thus, under to circumstances you are allowed to drive alone. You must have a licensed driver accompany you whenever you are behind the wheel. The supervising driver must hold a valid Texas drivers license and be at least 21 years of age.
If you do not treat these learners permit restrictions seriously and are caught breaking them, the DPS may revoke your driving privilege and deny you the chance to take your Texas driving test until you are at least 18 years of age.
Permit Renewal and Replacement
If you lose your Texas driving permit or it expires, you will need to renew or replace it. Texas drivers permit renewals and replacements are handled by local branches of the DPS - the drivers license offices.