Maine Learners Permit
Maine Learners Permit
Although the Maine learners permit does not grant you full driving privileges, it is still a major step on your way towards obtaining a license. If you received the Maine learners permit, you can start driving with another adult driver supervising you.
Most of the states around the country have some form of a graduated drivers license system and Maine is no exceptions. The GDL laws target teenage drivers and employ compulsory drivers education classes and the "supervised driving only" period to help teenager gain some driving experience before they hit the roads on their own. The learners permit is an essential part of the process, allowing teenagers to practice driving while reducing the chance of a potentially fatal mistake.
Learners Permit Exam
If you are at least 15 years old, you can apply for the learner's permit at the BMV office. Applicants who are under 16 years of age must have already completed a drivers ed class. If you fulfill these requirements, you need to take the Maine permit test to prove that you are no stranger to the Maine driving rules.
If you want to prepare for the exam, you can start by going over the Maine drivers manual which contains everything you need to know about driving in the state. Practice tests is a great way for you to learn the phrasing that may be used on the actual exam.
Drivers Permit Restrictions
The learners permit does not grant you full driving privileges and you should always observe all permit restrictions that are imposed. The main limitation is that you are not allowed to drive unsupervised. You must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated next to you at all times (if the supervising driver is a sibling, the age is 18).
Updating Instructional Permit to Drivers License
If you are under 21, you must hold your Maine instructional permit for at least 6 months. After this period, you can schedule your drivers license test and receive a Maine drivers license upon successful completion of the driving exam.
License applicants who are under 18 years of age are given an intermediate license that allows unsupervised driving, but still has some passenger and cell phone usage restrictions.