New Jersey Learners Permit
New Jersey Learners Permit
New Jersey learners permit is the first document you receive from the MVC that allows you to operate a motor vehicle. New Jersey drivers permit allows you to start practicing your driving skills with a supervising driver and you should make the most of this time.
New Jersey GDL
If you are under 17 years of age, you will be subjected to the New Jersey graduated drivers license system. The GDL laws were designed for the safety of teen drivers and they are an effective way to reduce the crash rates among this age group. The laws use such instruments as the mandatory New Jersey drivers education classes and permit restrictions to ensure that every teen license applicant gets proper education before going out to drive on their own.
New Jersey Learners Permit Types
At the moment, there are a few drivers permits that are offered by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). The type of permit you apply for depends on your current age.
- Early Bird Road Student Learners Permit
- Examination Permit
No matter which permit type you are applying for, you will be required to pass the New Jersey permit exam. The knowledge tests covers questions on driving laws, road signs and traffic safety and you must do well if you want to get a permit.
If you want to prepare for the knowledge test, you may start by downloading a copy of the New Jersey drivers manual. The handbook is a great resource of information on the New Jersey driving laws and should be more than enough for anyone who wants to pass the drivers permit exam. If you have already read the manual, take some New Jersey practice tests to make sure you remember what you've read.
Student Learners Permit
The minimum age for obtaining a New Jersey "Early Bird Road" permit is 16. If you will be applying for the student learners permit at this age, you must enroll in a drivers education class and show proof of that at the time of the application. Once you complete the learner's permit exam at the MVC, you will be issued with the student learners permit that allows you to drive while being supervised by another licensed drivers at least 21 years old or older. There are other permit restrictions that you must observe at all times.
New Jersey Examination Permit
The examination permit may be issued to applicants who are at least 17 years old. This type of the drivers permit also requires permit and vision testing. However, drivers education classes are not mandatory for the examination permit applicants.
Once you receive your examination permit, you can start practicing driving with another driver who is at least 21 years old. The permit also comes with its own set of restrictions that are different for two age groups, 17yo - 21yo and 21 - older.
Once you have held the permit for the required period and fulfilled all other requirements, you may schedule your road skills test and receive your New Jersey driver license.