New Mexico Learners Permit
New Mexico Learners Permit
New Mexico learners permit is the first step in the licensing procedure and it is the first document that allows you to drive legally. It's a big step for you but don't let that excitement to get the best of you, make sure you are always accompanied by another licensed driver if you are operating a vehicle on the New Mexico drivers permit.
New Mexico GDL
The graduated drivers license system in New Mexico ensures that every teenage driver gets proper education and training before getting out on the road alone. The drivers permit is not the only part of the GDL system, teenage permit applicants also need to complete a New Mexico drivers education program and supervised driving hours in order to become eligible for a drivers license.
Learners permit applicants aged between 18 and 24 years old need to complete a DWI program before they can be issued with their drivers license.
Learners Permit Exam
No matter how old you are, the MVD in New Mexico requires you to prove that you know the driving laws before issuing you with the drivers permit. You will need to take the permit exam that will assess your current level of preparation and if you fail the exam, you will be refused the permit issuance.
If you want to pass the test the first time you take it, you must study for it and there is no better way to study than reading the New Mexico drivers handbook. The permit knowledge exam is largely based on the book, which makes it a perfect source of information.
New Mexico permit practice tests may also come in handy, but you still need to ready the book before you start taking them.
Once you pass the permit test and a vision exams and provide the required documentation, the MVD will grant you the New Mexico learners permit.
New Mexico Permit Restrictions
Congratulations, you finally got your permit and you're probably itching to get behind the wheel and go for a cruise. Hold your horses there, the learners permit does not grant you the full driving privileges yet and you must observe the drivers permit restrictions at all times, such as no driving unless supervised by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
Upgrading Permit to Drivers License
Once you've gained some driving skills, you may schedule your road test with the MVD. Applicants who are under 17 years of age must have completed a drivers education program, 50 hours of supervised driving and have held their permits for at least 6 months by this time.
You must provide your own vehicle for the driving exam, the vehicle being properly insured and titled. You must also bring your drivers permit with you as you cannot be behind the wheel without it.
Once you pass the test, you will be given either a provisional drivers license, if you are under 18 years of age or a full unrestricted New Mexico drivers license if you are over 18.