Texas Driving Test
Texas Drivers Test
Looks like you are at the final stage of the licensing process and the only thing that stands between you and your Texas drivers license is the Texas driving test. For most of us, taking the 2013 Texas drivers test is a very stressful experience and due to this stress, we may not perform our best when we get behind the wheel. If you are one of these people who tend to worry too much, there is only one certain way to reduce the amount of stress during your Texas drivers test and that is being as prepared for the road exam as possible. This does not only mean getting as many hours behind the wheel as possible, taking professional driving lessons and performing the required maneuvers over and over again, it also means that you need to review the manual to brush up on the state driving laws. Yes, you will be tested on your knowledge of driving rules while taking the 2013 Texas driving test so we advise that you go ahead and make sure you are up to date on the laws with a free refresher Texas drivers license practice test!
Texas Driving Test Requirements
Prior to taking a driving test at the Department of Public Safety, the state requires you to meet certain requirements, such as receiving a Texas drivers permit. Texas driving test requirements largely depend on the age of the applicant, so make sure you follow the right procedure.
Under 18 Years of Age
If you intend on taking the Texas drivers test before you turn 18, you are subject to the Texas graduated driver's license program and your road towards the driving test starts at the gates of a driving school where you take a Texas drivers education class. We speak figuratively when we mention the “gates” - the DPS and the TEA are doing a great job at providing teenagers with alternatives to a regular driving school. Thus, teen drivers usually have an option to complete a Texas parent taught driver's education online or going through one of the book courses. While being enrolled in a drivers education course, you visit a local DPS office and take your Texas permit test that assesses your knowledge of the state driving rules and road signs. Those who complete the test successfully receive a learners permit that allows them to start driving practice with parents. The permit must be held for at least six months and the drivers education course must be complete within this period. If these requirements are met, you are good to schedule your Texas drivers license test.
18 to 24 Years of Age
If you are at least 18, but under 25 years of age, you do not need to meet the graduated license requirements, but you must still take a drivers education course and pass the same drivers permit test at the DPS before you can take a driving test in Texas. Keep in mind that you need to take a Texas drivers ed course for adults, it is different from the one offered for teenage drivers. Although the course should do a good job of preparing you for the driver's permit test, you are more than welcome to use additional study materials, such as the official Texas drivers manual and this Texas drivers practice test (mind you, this is not the only practice exam we have available, go ahead and check out this Texas permit practice test and this Texas DMV practice test too). Once you receive your drivers permit, you can also start driving practice with a licensed driver at least 21 years of age with not less than a year of driving experience. There is no minimum permit holding period for you so you can schedule your Texas drivers test as soon as you feel confident behind the wheel.
25 Years of Age and Older
If you are at least 25 years of age, you are not required to take any drivers ed courses prior to taking your Texas driving test, however you must still pass the same examinations and receive a learners permit before scheduling a road test. Make sure to get a lot of driving practice before you hit the road with a DPS examiner.
What to Expect on The Driving Test
First thing you should remember is that you have to make an appointment for your road test, the DPS does not accept walk ins. Schedule the driving test well in advance, as sometimes you have to wait quite a while for your appointment. School holidays are usually the busiest days for driving examiners, so schedule your test during other periods, if possible.
It is up to you to provide a vehicle for your Texas road test, the DPS does not offer cars for rent that you could use. You must carry proper car insurance, the vehicle must be registered, titled and be in good mechanical condition. Your examiner will conduct a quick safety inspection of your vehicle and if the vehicle does not pass this inspection, you will need to reschedule the driving test.
During your Texas driver's test, you are tested on four main subjects:
- Control - your ability to move in the required direction
- Observation - your ability to notice things around you as you drive. This covers road signs, highway marking, pedestrians and traffic around you.
- Positioning - your ability to hold the vehicle in the middle of the lane. You get penalized for lane straddling.
- Signaling - your ability to communicate with other drivers around you
These are the main areas covered by the driving test and you have to display proficiency in all of them if you want to pass. There are also a few specific maneuvers you may wish to practice as you are almost guaranteed to encounter them during your Texas driver test.
- parallel parking
- quick stop
- use of clutch
There are also things that will definitely get you failed on your Texas drivers license test. Make sure you do not do any of them.
- violate the law
- refuse to follow instructions
- drive dangerously
- have a crash
- have more than 30 point deducted on the driving test
At the end of your Texas driving test, the driving examiner will tell you what mistakes you've made during the test and things you may need to work on. You will also be provided with a written evaluation of your driving skills.
If you fail your Texas driving test, you will be told when you can retake it again.
If you pass the drivers license test, you will have to pay the licensing fee and have your picture taken. At the time, you will be provided with a receipt that is valid for 60 days. You can use this receipt as proof that you have a drivers license and operate your vehicle, just make sure to carry the receipt with you at all times. Your actual Texas drivers license is mailed to you within 2-3 weeks of the driving test date. If you do not receive your license in 4 weeks, call the DPS office you took the test at to check upon the status of your license.