Oregon Learners Permit
Oregon Learners Permit
Learners permit is probably the first document you can get that legally entitles you to driving a vehicle. The process of obtaining an Oregon drivers permit is quite simple no matter how old you are.
Oregon Provisional Learner Permit Application
In order to be eligible for the Oregon drivers permit, you must be at least 15 years old. Although you are not required by law to take any drivers education programs, you are still strongly advised to do so as there is no better way for you to prepare for your future on the road. Better yet, the course will also prepare you for the knowledge exam that you have to take at the DMV at the time of the application. While the DMV test is not extremely hard, most of the first time applicants still fail because they do not commit any time to preparing for it.
Learners Permit Paperwork
If you are under 18 years of age, you will be required to file the following documents when you apply for the learners license in Oregon:
- Application for drivers license
- Proof of residence
- Proof of identity
- Social security card
- Proof of school attendance, completion or exemption
The application for drivers license will need to be co-signed by your parents.
If you are over 18, you should provide the same paperwork with an exception of proof of school attendance.
Preparing For The Knowledge Permit Test
The best way for you to prepare for the learners permit exam is to take a drivers education program. However, if you decided to skip on the drivers ed, there are still other options for you. The first stop on your quest for the driving rules should be the DMV drivers handbook. The manual is provided free of charge and it covers pretty much every driving-related question you may have. Once done with the manual, find yourself a few practice permit questions that will help you test your knowledge of the Oregon driving rules.
If you pass the Oregon permit test, the vision screening exam and present the DMV with all the paperwork, you will be awarded with the interim card. You can use the card to practice your driving skills with another licensed driver until you receive your learners permit in the mail.
Learners Permit Restrictions
The drivers permit that you received was primarily designed to give you the chance to get behind the wheel and practice your driving skills and it holds certain permit restrictions. The main restriction that is posed by the permit is that you can never drive alone. Whenever the learners permit holder is operating a vehicle, he must be accompanied by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has at least 3 years of driving experience. The restriction will be lifted once you upgrade to the provisional drivers license.
Lost Permits, Renewals and Replacements
Your Oregon drivers permit is valid for 24 months and you are expected to apply for your drivers license within this period. If your permit expires, you may renew it by visiting any DMV office. If you r permit has been expired for over a year before you decide to renew it, you would have to retake the knowledge exam. Replacements for your permit can also be obtained from the DMV, you would be required to pay any associated fees on the spot.
Permit Holding Period
The minimum holding period for the Oregon learners permit is 6 months. If you have held the permit for 6 months and are at least 16, you can apply for your provisional drivers license.