Texas Learners Permit Restrictions
Texas Learners Permit Restrictions
Finally got your Texas learners permit? Kudos to you! We know it's a great feeling, finally being able to get behind the wheel and go for a drive. However, one thing to remember that this is not a full drivers license yet and you must follow all 2013 Texas learner's permit restrictions to the word! While these Texas permit restrictions may seem as a nuisance to you at the moment, they were carefully crafted to keep you safe and sound during your initial license stage and they are based on statistics we have about teen crashes. All TX drivers permit restrictions are age-dependent, since they are part of the graduated license system and you must learn what restrictions you will need to follow. We will try to cover as many of the 2013 Texas state learners permit restrictions as possible in this article, read on to keep your record clean!
Why Do We Need The Drivers Permit Rules?
There is only one answer to the question "why do we need all these Texas learners permit restrictions" and that is SAFETY. Safety of those who just got behind the wheel and safety of others they share the road with. Newly licensed drivers don't have any driving experience, so they are frequently unable to react to the quickly changing traffic condition as an experienced driver would. This is where these Texas permit restrictions come in. The restrictions are designed to keep you out of trouble and to allow you to gradually develop safe driving habits.
Texas Permit Restrictions Enforcement
In Texas, all driving permit rules and restrictions are set by the Department of Public Safety. The Department regulates the whole licensing procedure and you can usually get an update on the current rules from the Texas driovers handbook that is provided free of charge.
While all driving permit restrictions are developed by the DPS, they are enforced by the Texas police department. If you are caught breaking any of Texas permit restrictions, the officer who stops you will forward your case to a local courthouse and your driving privilege may be suspended or completely revoked.
Age Depended Learners Permit Restrictions in Texas
Statistically, drivers who are younger than 18 are more than twice as likely to be involved in a traffic collision when compared to an average driver. This is why there are more restrictions to observe for those who choose to obtain a drivers license or learners permit before they turn 18.
If you are 18 years old or older, the following restrictions will apply to your Texas learners permit:
- Supervised driving only. You cannot operate a vehicle unless there is another licensed driver seated next to you. The driver must be at least 21 years old, have a valid Texas drivers license and have at least 1 year of driving experience. There is no minimum amount of time that you have to hold your permit for before you can go and take your Texas driving test.
If you are under 18 years of age, than you are subject to the Texas graduated license law and the following graduated drivers license restrictions will apply to you:
- Supervised driving only while driving with a learners permit. The supervising driving must be your parent or legal guardian with a valid Texas drivers license. The permit must be held for at least 6 months before you can apply for your provisional drivers license.
Your Texas provisional drivers license allows you to drive unsupervised, but still has the following restrictions:
- You cannot carry more than one passenger in the vehicle while driving without a supervising driver.
- Curfew. No night-time driving is allowed, you should not be on the road between midnight and 5 a.m. (exceptions can be made if you are driving to school or employment related activity and for medical emergencies).
- The provisional drivers license must be held for at least 6 months before these restrictions can be lifted.
Applying for Texas Drivers Permit
If you don't have your permit yet, you should definitely go ahead and apply for it as soon as possible. The DPS will require you to prove that you know the rules of the road by taking the Texas drivers permit test. You may wish to take a Texas practice permit test before you go in for the real thing, it does a great jon at helping you identify driving rules you may have missed while studying. You don't have to limit yourself to this single test and are welcome to check out all other practice exams as well, such as this Texas driving test practice exam or this Texas DMV practice test. Try to cover as many permit test questions as possible, it will really make your life easier during the real permit exam.
At the moment, all license applicants who are under 26 years of age have to complete one of the Texas drivers education courses. Students who are 18 to 26 have to take a short 6 hour adult drivers ed class, while younger drivers may choose from one of the convenient parent taught drivers education courses. Remember that while taking the class is mandatory, it does not dismiss the fact that you still need to observe all Texas learners permit restrictions up to the point when you receive your full unrestricted drivers license!