Oregon Learners Permit Restrictions - OR Driving Permit Rules
Oregon Permit Restrictions
As soon as you receive an Oregon learners permit, you can get behind the wheel and start driving. However, you must not forget that your learners permit is not a drivers license and it comes with a number of learner's permit restrictions. One of the main Oregon permit restrictions is that you are not allowed to drive alone and whenever you are behind the wheel, you must have another licensed driver seated next to you. In addition to this, drivers who are under the age of 18 are subject to the Oregon graduated license restrictions and requirements.
Many drivers who just got received their first Oregon drivers permit wonder why there is a need for these permit restrictions? The answer to this question is very simple - the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles wants to make sure that you don't hurt yourself or anyone else while you are acquiring the essential driving experience. Driving is a skill you can't learn in the classroom, it's a complex process that requires you to do multiple tasks at once. Take entering a highway as an example. While entering a highway, you must keep in sight traffic on the acceleration lane in front of you and behind you. At the same time, you are to watch traffic on the highway. You must match your speed to that of all other drivers around you. You must yield to the traffic already on the highway. If your vehicle has manual transmission, you will also need to shift gears. Finally, there is also a matter of time frame -you have just a few seconds to do all that.
Experienced drivers usually do all those things without even noticing them, but that is what the experience is for. You, as a person who just got a learners permit, don't have the skills required for performing these tasks yet and that's where the Oregon permit restrictions come in. The restrictions are there to prevent you from getting into these dangerous situations until you have the skills required to cope with them.
When it comes to teenage drivers, the situation is even worse. Young drivers frequently overestimate their driving ability and are prone to taking risks, they are also less likely to use safety precautions, such as seat belts. That's why the licensing procedure for teenage drivers license applicants is governed by the Oregon graduated drivers license laws, the laws that also specify additional permit restrictions and requirements for everyone who is under 18 years of age. The official Oregon driver manual contains detailed information about the graduated license restrictions, so if you are under 18 years of age, you should definitely check it out.
Oregon Drivers Permit Restrictions - Over 18 Years of Age
If you are 18 years of age or older, the DMV trusts you not to engage in dangerous activities while driving and that is why there are not that many restrictions for you to observe. The only real limitation to your learners permit is that you are not allowed to drive alone. Whenever you are behind the wheel, you must have another licensed driver at least 21 years of age seated next to you. The supervising driver must be prepared to take control of the vehicle should you make a mistake. Having another driver with more experience next to you should strike some confidence into you and allow you to avoid the most common mistakes made by newly licensed drivers.
Although the DMV discourages the use of cell phones while driving, you are not prohibited from using one while driving with a learners permit. However, if you decide to use a cell phone, you must use a hands-free accessory, you cannot use a hand-held device while driving.
The requirements for obtaining a learners permit for those who are over the age of 18 are the same as for young drivers and you will have to go through the same tests as everyone else. Every drivers permit applicant must take an Oregon permit test that covers the state road rules and traffic signs before a permit can be issued. If you want to see what the test is like, you can take a few Oregon practice permit tests, they will help you get accustomed to the wording used by the DMV.
Oregon Learners Permit Restrictions - Under 18 Years of Age
If you received a learners permit and you are under 18 years of age, you must meet the requirements and observe the restrictions set by the Oregon graduated drivers license law. The law mandates that you are not to drive alone, you must have a licensed driver at least 21 years of age seated next to you. You cannot use any communication devices while driving, neither hand-held, nor hands-free.
According to the law, you are required to hold a learners permit for at least six months before you can take an Oregon drivers test and get a provisional drivers license. During this period, you must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving and an Oregon traffic safety course or 100 hours of supervised driving hours. In order for the driving hours to count towards the supervised driving hours requirements, the supervising driver must have at least three years of driving experience.
As a young driver, you are also required to take a Safe Driving Practices Test that is based on the information in the drivers handbook and things you learn during your supervised driving hours. You are advised to revise the driver handbook before you take the test.
Oregon Provisional Drivers License Restrictions
Drivers license applicants under the age of 18 who satisfy all permit requirements and pass both the drivers license test and the safe driving practices test are granted an Oregon provisional drivers license that allows driving alone under certain conditions. The provisional license restrictions are lifted in 12 months or when the drivers license holder turns 18, whatever comes first.
- Passenger restrictions. For the first six months, no passengers under the age of 18 are allowed to be present in the vehicle, unless they are members of the driver's immediate family. For the rest of the time, you are not allowed to carry more than three passengers under the age of 18. Passenger restrictions may be excused if your parent or a certified driving instructor is present in the vehicle.
- No cell phones. You cannot use a cell phone while driving.
- Curfew. The night time restrictions mandates that you are not allowed to drive between midnight and 5 a.m.
Nighttime driving restrictions can be lifted if you are:
driving between work and home
driving between home and a school event for which no other transportation was provided
driving for employment purposes
accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age