Utah Permit Test
Utah Permit Test 2013
Before you can be issued with a learners permit in Utah, you must complete the 2013 Utah permit test. The permit test was designed to assess your knowledge of traffic rules and safe driving practices and to determine whether you can become a safe and responsible driver. Utah permit testing is conducted by the Department of Public Safety and you can take your drivers permit exam at any DPS office. If you are unsure whether you are ready to take the real permit test, you can apply yourself against the Utah practice permit test that covers the same topics and uses similar wording to the real exam.
Utah Permit Test Questions
When taking a Utah permit test, you will be presented with 25 multiple choice and true or false questions. The passing score for the test is 80%, which means that you will need to provide at least 20 correct answers. All permit test questions are based on the materials provided in the Utah permit test manual and you should study the book before you take the written exam at the DPS. Even though the DPS provides free access to study materials required for passing the test, most of the first time applicants fail the test the first time they take it. This happens because people tend to underestimate the level of preparation that is required for passing the exam and this that general knowledge of the driving rules is sufficient. Fortunately, this is not the case as the DPS wants to make sure that you know all driving rules, not just the basics, before you get out on the road. The permit test questions will cover a wide variety of topics that concern traffic safety, road rules, road signs and even insurance requirements and you have to know all those things if you want to pass the test.
Just to give you an idea of what the real permit test questions are like, here is a sample practice test question that is provided in the drivers handbook:
Use your lights anytime conditions keep you from seeing ahead:
a) 1000 feet
b) 500 feet
c) 300 feet
d) 200 feet
Read on to find the correct answer to this question.
When taking the Utah permit test at the DPS, you will have to answer 25 questions like the one above. If you feel comfortable with such questions, you should do just fine. However, if you just guessed the answer to the question above and you think that you will be able to guess the answers to all permit test questions, you are up for a surprise. Statistically, you have one in four chances to guess the right answer, so the chances of you passing the test are very slim. If you want to ensure that you pass your Utah learners permit test the first time you take it, don't fool around and start studying in advance.
Preparing for Utah Drivers Permit Test
There are many ways for you to prepare for the permit test and you don't have to pay for most of them. In fact, if you spend enough time studying, the only money you will have to pay is the $15 permit fee that is collected at the time when you are issued your Utah learners permit. If you don't want to pay for any permit lessons, you should start by downloading a copy of the drivers manual. The manual is provided by the DPS and the questions on the learners permit test come from this book, so theoretically, this book is all you need in order to be able to pass the written test.
Practice permit tests is another good study aid that you could use to supplement the handbook. If you want to get the best results from the Utah practice permit test, you have to study the manual or a different permit study guide before you move on to taking practice test. Permit practice tests are great in helping you test your knowledge and understanding of driving rules and they can help you identify the topics you might have missed, but you must already have a sound knowledge of the rules before taking the tests. Keep in mind that we also offer a free Utah drivers license practice test and a Utah DMV practice permit test, both of them feature unlimited sample questions you can take over and over again until you pass!
Finally, there are also Utah drivers education courses that are mandatory for every drivers license applicant. Although the state only requires you to take a drivers education class before applying for a drivers license, we advise that you sign up early and complete the classroom portion of the class before you go in for the Utah drivers permit test. The information taught in the class will come in very handy at the exam and you may even skip reading the drivers handbook if you pay attention in the classroom.
Taking the Utah Learners Permit Test
The minimum age for taking a Utah learners permit test is 15. The test can be taken at any drivers license testing center that are run by the DPS. No appointment is necessary for the permit exam and you can come in any time during the regular business hours. Please note that even though the full service offices offer testing through the whole day, some of the smaller testing sites may not provide permit or license testing every day and you may want to call the location you plan on visiting before you come in.
When you arrive at the testing site for your Utah DPS permit test, please be prepared to do the following:
- provide proof of identification
- provide proof of Utah residency
- provide your Social Security number
- fill in the application for a drivers license form
- pay the learners permit fee - $20
- take a vision exam
- take the permit test
If you are under 18 years of age, your parents or legal guardians must be present with you at the office when you come in to take the written permit test. Your parents will need to sign your application form, confirming that they authorize you to obtain a Utah drivers license and that they accept financial responsibility for your actions.
The permit fee that you pay gives you three attempts at passing the test, if you don't pass after taking the test three times, you will have to pay another permit application fee. You can only take the test twice during one day.
Once you pass your Utah learners permit test, you are issued with a temporary permit that is valid for one month. Your real learners permit will be manufactured at the central DPS office and mailed to you within 2-3 weeks. That is why it is very important that the DPS has your correct mailing address.
Remember that your permit comes with various Utah learners permit restrictions that must be observed at all times. Teenage drivers must also follow the Utah graduated drivers license program requirements.
The correct answer to the Utah practice test question is provided above is a - 1000 feet.