Louisiana Permit Test
Louisiana Permit Test 2013
If you want to get a drivers license in Louisiana, you will need to prove that you are no stranger to the state driving laws and regulations and that is why everyone has to take the 2013 Louisiana permit test. The test covers the state road signs, traffic rules and safe driving practices and you have to be proficient in all of these areas. The exam is not hard, but more than a half of all first time license applicants fail the Louisiana drivers permit test the first time they take it, mostly due to the fact that they don't study for it. If you want to nail your learners permit test the first time you take it, make sure to read the official drivers handbook and take a few Louisiana practice permit tests before you go in for the real thing.
Louisiana Permit Test Questions
The questions you will encounter on the learner's permit test aren't especially hard and they are based on the materials provided in the official Louisiana drivers permit book, which makes the fact that more than fifty percent of all first time test takers fail the exam. They have access to almost unlimited study materials, the test is not hard and yet so many people fail it.
The reason for this is because the Louisiana permit test questions turn out to be not what most people expect. For some strange reason, most people are under the impression that common knowledge about driving rules and road signs is more than enough to pass the drivers permit test, which cannot be further from the truth. It's understandable that you might have picked up a few things about rules of the road while driving with your friends or relatives, but this won't be enough to pass the exam. In addition to that, studies show that many licensed drivers won't be able to pass the learners permit exam if they are asked to do so now.
Just to give you an idea of what you may be facing on your Louisiana permit test, here is a sample practice permit test question that you can wrap your mind around:
What distance must be kept between the passing automobile and slower traveling bicyclists?
a) 2 feet
b) 3 feet
c) 4 feet
d) 5 feet
e) 6 feet
You can find the right answer to this question at the bottom of the page.
When taking your Louisiana drivers permit test, you will be asked to answer 50 questions like the one above. The real Louisiana permit test consist of 30 questions that cover the driving laws and safe driving practices and 20 questions that cover the road signs. You must get a score of 80% on each of these sections, which means that you need to correctly answer 24 questions in the first part and 16 questions in the second part of the test. If you guessed the right answer to the sample question provided above, you should remember that guessing will not do the trick when you are presented with a large number of questions and you'll still fail the real permit test. The only way you can guarantee and that you pass the exam is if you invest time and patience into preparing for it.
Studying for the Louisiana Learner's Permit Test
When it comes to preparing for the Louisiana learner's permit test, we are blessed with abundance of information. Back in the old days, people just had handbooks that were hard to get and teachers that were hard to find, today you can get all study materials without even leaving the house.
The first thing you should do is obtain a copy of the drivers handbook. The book can truly be awarded a title of a “learners permit test book” because it contains everything you need to know in order to be able to pass the exam. The handbook is provided free of charge by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and is a must for everyone who is applying for the Louisiana drivers license. The permit test is based on the book so theoretically, this is the only thing you need. However, most of the license applicants find that the book works better when you compliment it with practice tests.
What are these practice tests and should you really use them? Good question. The Louisiana practice permit test can be extremely helpful if you use them the right way and the right way is to read the drivers handbook before taking those tests. Permit practice tests were never intended to be used as the only study material for preparing for the learners permit test and you should keep that in mind. Read the drivers manual, then use practice tests to identify the driving rules you may have missed or misunderstood. Keep in mind that we also have a Louisiana DMV practice test and a Louisiana drivers practice test, both exams are free.
Finally, we have Louisiana drivers education classes. If you are under 17 years of age, you will be required to complete a state-approved drivers education class before you can apply for a drivers permit, there are no exceptions to this rule. If you are 17 years of age or older, the state requires you to complete a drivers education class OR a six hour pre-licensing course, but we advise that you stick with drivers ed. Although drivers education classes are more expensive than the pre-licensing courses, they are worth the money you pay for them. Statistics show that drivers who complete drivers education classes are less likely to be involved in a traffic accidents and many insurance agencies honor this by granting such drivers with an insurance discount.
Whichever way of preparing for the driver permit test you choose is up to you, there is no best way to prepare for the test. As long as you spend enough time learning and rules of the road and traffic signs, you'll be able to pass the exam.
Taking the Louisiana Drivers Permit Test
The minimum age for applying for a Louisiana drivers permit is 15, which means that you will not be able to take your Louisiana DMV permit test until you are at least 15 years of age. If you are under 17 years of age, you must already have the certificate of completion for a drivers education class before you visit the DPS office (applicants 17 years of age or older must have the certificate for a pre-licensing course). There is no need to make an appointment for your exam, you can walk in any time during the regular business hours. The best days for taking the test are Wednesday and Thursday, so you can save some time waiting in line if you come on on of these days.
When you visit the DPS, please be prepared to do the following:
- present proof of ID
- provide proof of birth date
- provide proof of Louisiana residency
- provide your Social Security Number
- fill in the application for a learners permit
- pay the testing fee
- take a vision exam
- take the permit test
If you are under 18 years of age, you must have a parent of legal guardian present at the time of the application. Your parents will need to co-sign the application form, granting you authorization to receive a learners permit before the age of 18 and accepting liability for your actions. This is part of the Louisiana graduated drivers license law and you can read more about it in the drivers handbook.
When you pass the Louisiana learners permit test, you are granted a learners permit and you can start driving while being supervised by another licensed driver. Your permit comes with certain drivers permit restrictions and you must observe them until you receive an official drivers license.
The correct answer to the practice permit question is b - 3 feet.