South Carolina Permit Test
South Carolina Permit Test 2013
If you want to apply for a drivers license anywhere in the country, you are required to take a drivers permit test first and South Carolina is no exception to this rule. The 2013 South Carolina permit test was designed to assess your knowledge of the state driving law, road signs and safe driving practices and you will not be issued neither a drivers license, nor a learners permit until you demonstrate solid knowledge of these subject. Unfortunately, more than a half of all first time applicants fail their 2013 SC drivers permit test the first time they take it, mostly due to the fact that they overestimate their knowledge of driving rules and fail to study before the test. If you want to see if you are ready for the real knowledge exam, take a free permit practice test SC sample quiz!
South Carolina Permit Test Questions
The learners permit test in South Carolina has 30 multiple choice questions and the passing score for the test is 80%. This means that you will need to answer at least 24 of these questions correctly before the Department of Motor Vehicles can issue you with a South Carolina drivers license.
The questions on the permit test cover such topics as the state driving rules, road signs and safe driving practices. The questions are distributed evenly between these topics, so there is no point in concentrating on one particular subject.
The most common mistake made by the first time applicants is overestimating their current knowledge of driving rules. In most cases, people pick up the basic driving rules just by watching other drivers. For example, if you are a teenager, you may see your parents drive you to school or a friend driving you for a camping trip. Driving has become such a large part of our lives that we are currently subjected to it and this forces us to learn the basic driving and safety rules. Some people are under the impression that these basic safety rules are going to get them through the learners permit test just fine, which cannot be further from the truth. Being driven somewhere by a friend and controlling a vehicle yourself are two completely different things and driving requires a lot of preparation. Before the DMV grants you authorization behind the wheel, you will need to prove that you know the road rules well enough to not be a threat to yourself and other drivers who surround you, and this means knowing as much as possible about driving.
Just to give you an idea of what you will be facing on your real South Carolina permit test, here is a sample practice permit test SC question:
“When parking a car, the minimum distance to a fire hydrant should be:
b) 10 feet
c) 15 feet
d) 20 feet
e) 25 feet
You will find the correct answer to this practice permit test question at the end of the page.
When answering the question above, keep in mind that you have to know the answer, not guess it. You can guess one or two answers, but you will not be able to guess 30 of them. The only way for you to ensure that you pass the South Carolina permit test on your first try is to study for it.
Studying for the South Carolina Drivers Permit Test
Today, there is no shortage of study materials when the time comes to take the knowledge test, we are blessed with the abundance if information and you can use both free and paid study guides. A good place to start your lessons is the official South Carolina drivers manual, which is provided by the DMV absolutely free of charge. The book covers the state driving laws, road signs, safe driving practices and the licensing procedure. The questions you will encounter on the learner's permit test come straight from this book. We advise that you read the handbook even if you are attending classes at a commercial driving school.
Once done with the handbook, you can test yourself with the SC permit practice test. Practice tests are a great study aid, but many students misunderstand the purpose they were created for and misuse them. South Carolina practice permit tests were created so you can test how well you've learned the rules of the road and road signs and they are not supposed to be used as the only source of information. Instead, you should read the drivers handbook first and then take practice permit tests to identify the rules you might have missed or misunderstood. Remember that there are other free practice tests available on the site, such as the SC DMV permit practice test and the South Carolina driving practice test.
Finally, we have South Carolina drivers education courses. Drivers ed classes are mandatory for those who are applying for a drivers license before they are at least 17 years of age. If you are 17 years old or older, the state does not require you to take a drivers education class but you may still wish to do so. Drivers ed classes do a great job at preparing you for the drivers permit test and help you become a safe and responsible driver. Some insurance companies also provide drivers ed graduates with a car insurance discount, which serves as a nice reward for completing the class.
Mandatory drivers education classes are part of the South Carolina graduate driver license law that was designed to keep teen drivers safe from the hazards of the road. The graduate driver license law also dictates a number of learners permit restrictions that are placed onto teenagers. If you want to learn more about the law, please refer to the driver handbook.
Taking the South Carolina Permit Test
You must be at least 15 years of age to be eligible for a South Carolina learners permit, so this is the minimum age for taking a South Carolina DMV drivers permit test. The test can be taken at any drivers license office, no appointment is necessary. Just find a DMV office near you and visit it any time during their regular business hours. When you arrive at the permit testing station, please be prepared to do the following:
- present your birth certificate
- provide proof of South Carolina residency
- provide proof of identity
- provide your Social Security Number
- fill in the application for a learners permit form
- pay the application fee
- take a vision exam
- take the learners permit test
If you are under 18 years of age, you must have a parent or legal guardian present with you at the time of the application. The application form must be signed by the parent or legal guardian before it can be processed.
If you pass the South Caroline DMV permit test, you are granted a drivers permit that can be used to practice driving. Please remember that you are not allowed to drive alone and must have another licensed driver supervise you at all times.
We hope you understand that if you want to pass the drivers permit test on the first try, the only way to do this is to study hard. There is nothing overly complicated about the driving rules or road signs, if you just sit down and spend sufficient time reading the book, you will pass your learners permit test easy.
The correct answer to the sample practice question is “c - feet”.