Arkansas Permit Test
Arkansas Permit Test 2013
Those who seek to obtain a drivers license or learners permit in the state of Arkansas have to take the 2013 Arkansas permit test. The DMV in Arkansas wants to make sure that you are familiar with the state driving laws, road signs and safe driving practices and are able to apply this knowledge in a real life situation. Although the 2013 Arkansas drivers permit test is not especially hard, more than a half of all first time applicants fail the test the first time they take it. If you want to be among those who pass the driving permit test the first time, test yourself with free Arkansas practice permit test before you go in for the real DMV exam!
Arkansas Permit Test Questions
The Arkansas permit test has 25 questions and you will need to answer at least 20 of them correctly, which makes the passing score 80 percent. The test contains only multiple choice and true or false question. Considering this, it is amazing how so many people fail the learners permit test the firs time they take it. According to the official data, more than a half of all first time Arkansas drivers license applicants fail the knowledge exam on their first try. If we were looking for things we could blame this on, overconfidence would take a number one spot. For some strange reason, most of the permit and license applicants think that general knowledge of Arkansas driving rules will get them through the test, so they don't even study the drivers license handbook that is provided by the state. As the result, we have what we have.
Just to illustrate what's stated above with an example, here is a sample practice permit question you can try to tackle:
“At night time, use your low beams when following another vehicle closer than ____ feet."
The correct answer to this sample question is located at the end of the page.
If you are able to answer 25 permit questions like the one above - you should do just fine on your real Arkansas permit test. Those who just guessed the answer to the question and think that they will be able to guess all questions on the permit test are up for a surprise. Statistically, you will get a score of 20 percent if you try to guess all the answers, which is way below the passing grade. So be smart and study for the test, there is no way around this.
Studying for Arkansas Permit Test
Thankfully, there is no shortage of study materials for those who would like to prepare for the Arkansas permit test and you can choose from a variety of free and paid resources that can help you get your permit, but we advise that you always start with the Arkansas drivers test book. The questions you will get on your knowledge exam are based on the information provided in the handbook, so in theory, this book is all you need. The good news is that the book is free and is available both online and through drivers license testing offices. The bad news is that not every aspect of driving is covered in the form that would be easy to understand for new drivers.
If you don't mind spending a few dollars on your education, you can sign up for an Arkansas drivers education class. Although not mandatory, drivers ed classes do a great job of teaching you the rules of the road and safe driving practices and they usually contain a lot of information on defensive driving techniques. You can choose between taking one of the online drivers education courses or sign up for an in person class at one of the commercial driving schools, whatever suits your schedule and budget better.
Finally, once done with the study materials, you can try taking an Arkansas practice permit test. Practice tests are great for those who already have a sound knowledge of the rules and want to highlight the topics they may have missed or not understood as well as they thought. Some students make the mistake of using the Arkansas drivers practice test as the only study resource and this usually does not give good results. Most of the practice tests just provide you with correct answers to test questions, but they don't give you the rationale for them. You end up memorizing things without understanding them, which is not a good way to go. If you want to get the best results from taking the Arkansas DMV practice test, make sure to study the manual or take a drivers education program first.
Taking the Arkansas Drivers Permit Test
According to the Arkansas graduated drivers license law, you must be at least 14 years of age before you can take a learners permit test. Testing is conducted by the Arkansas State Police and you can call 501-618-8251 to find a nearest testing site and check their business hours. When you arrive at the drivers license testing center, please be prepared to do the following:
- provide proof of name
- provide proof of residential address
- provide proof of birth date
- complete an application for a drivers license
- pay the learners permit fee
- take a vision test
- take the permit test
If you are under the age of 18, you must have your parents or legal guardians to be present when you apply for an Arkansas learners permit. Your parents will need to sign a consent form, authorizing your application. Without parental consent, you will neither be tested, nor will you be issued any licensing documents.
Learners permit and drivers license applicants under the age of 18 must also demonstrate proper school attendance and achievements. Two forms must be submitted at the time of the application - a school attendance form and a grade average form. Without these forms, no application will be processed.
Once the test is successfully completed, you are issued with a learners permit. Please remember that this is not a full license and there are certain Arkansas permit restrictions that must be observed. Applicants who are 18 years old or older can take an Arkansas drivers test and apply for a full drivers license as soon as they feel ready for the test, while teenagers will have to go through all graduated license stages before a full license can be issued.
The correct answer to the practice question is B.