Montana Learners Permit Restrictions - MT Driving Permit Rules
Montana Drivers Permit Restrictions
Applying for a learners permit is the first step of the licensing procedure in virtually any state. Your learners permit allows you to start practicing driving, however, due to the fact that you don't have any driving experience at this point, your learners permit carries certain restrictions that were designed to keep you safe during your first months behind the wheel. Depending on the type of a Montana learners permit that you apply for, some of the permit restrictions may vary, however one thing remains the same - you are not allowed to drive unsupervised while operating under a permit. You should observe all Montana permit restrictions immaculately, since they were designed for your own protection and may save your life at some point.
Many people wonder why do they even have to apply for a Montana learners permit and can't apply directly for a drivers license? Wouldn't it be easier if you could just pass all of the required tests and get a full unrestricted drivers license right away? It would probably be easier, but then it wouldn't be safe for you. You can study the drivers manual and take a few professional driving lessons and be ready to tackle the tests, however you would be missing one essential thing and that is driving experience. Experience is everything when it comes to driving, it allows you to make the right choices and avoid dangerous situations behind the wheel. If such situation arises, experience is what can allow you to get out of that situation unscathed. Experience is what you, as a person who just got a Montana learners permit or drivers license recently, probably lack.
So the main goal of a learners permit, with all its limitations and restrictions, is to allow all Montana drivers license applicants to gain the essential driving experience in a relatively safe driving environment, while being accompanied by a more experienced licensed driver who can assist in difficult situations. Due to the fact that teen drivers face more risks behind the wheel, a special set of rules and regulations were devised for them and they came to be known as the Montana graduated drivers license system. Apart from setting a number of additional drivers permit restrictions, the graduated license laws also divide the licensing procedure for teens into a number of separate steps and introduces compulsory drivers education courses for those who wish to obtain a permit sooner.
Montana Permit Restrictions - Over 18 Years of Age
If you are over 18 years of age and have received a Montana learners license, there is only one real restriction for you to observe and that is no driving alone. Whenever you are behind the wheel, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 18 years of age. The supervising driver must stay alert at all times and should be prepared to take control of the vehicle at any time.
Although there are no other mandatory permit restrictions, we advise that you keep in mind all restrictions that apply to teenage drivers and use them as safety rules. In order to ensure that you get safely through this period, always stay alert when driving. Avoid any possible distraction, such as talking on a cell phone or playing with the radio. Always wear a seat belt and have everyone else in the vehicle wear one too. These simple rules can save your life one day.
Montana Permit Restrictions - Under 18 Years of Age
If you are under 18 years of age, you will have to observe additional permit restrictions as mandated by the GDL law. Since there is a number of different learner permits available in Montana, we'll cover restrictions that are specific to each one of them. If you want to learn more about each permit type, you can always consult the Montana drivers manual.
Traffic Education Permit (TEP) Restrictions
This learners permit is only valid for participation in a traffic education program. Under the conditions of this permit, you can operate a vehicle only while being supervised by your drivers education instructor. Your traffic education permit is only valid for the period in which you are enrolled in the course.
Traffic Education Learner's License (TELL) Restrictions
If you are at least 14 ½ years old and you are currently enrolled in or have completed a Montana drivers education course, you may be eligible for a traffic education learners license. While driving with this learner's permit, you must be supervised by an instructor or a licensed parent/legal guardian.
If you have received a regular learners license, you may operate a vehicle while being supervised by a licensed parent, legal guardian or any other licensed driver at least 21 years of age who has been authorized by the parent.
Please remember that regardless of the type of a permit you apply for, you will have to take a Montana permit test. The test covers the state driving rules and road signs and you must show that you are no stranger to them before the MVD will issue you with a permit. If you want to see what the permit test questions are like, you may take a free Montana permit practice test.
First Year Restricted Drivers License Restrictions
Teenagers who have fulfilled all permit requirements and have passed a Montana drivers test can be issued with a restricted drivers license. Although this type of a license allows driving without parental supervision, it still comes with the following restrictions:
- Curfew. No driving alone between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. Exceptions can be made in case of an emergency or when you are accompanied by a supervising driver.
- Seat belts. Seat belts must be worn by everyone in the vehicle.
- Passenger restrictions. For the first six months, no more than one passenger under the age of 18 who is not related to the driver is allowed to be in the vehicle. For the second six months, no more than three passengers under the age of 18 who are not related to the driver are allowed in the vehicle. The restriction does not apply when there is a supervising driver seated next to the driver.
These restrictions hold for 12 months. At the end of the period, a restricted license is upgraded to a full driver license and all restrictions are lifted.