New Hampshire Learners Permit Restrictions - NH Driving Permit Rules
New Hampshire Permit Restrictions
There are no real permit restrictions in New Hampshire as there is simply no such thing as a learners permit in this state. However, there are still a number of requirements and restrictions that apply to teenage licensees and those who just started practicing driving and are going through the supervised driving period under the New Hampshire graduated license program. The driving restrictions that you need to observe depend on your age and the type of a drivers license that you currently hold.
Many people wonder why these restrictions are developed and enforced throughout the country. The reason is very simple - inexperience is one of the most dangerous things when it comes to driving. Lack of driving experience leads to mistakes and mistakes can cost dearly when they are made behind the wheel. According to statistics, one our of every five drivers either have an accident or receive a ticket for a moving violation within the first year of driving. Someone who just received a New Hampshire drivers license usually doesn't have the skills required for safe operation of a vehicle yet and the Division of Motor Vehicles takes steps to reduce the crash rates among such drivers.
New Hampshire Permit Restrictions - Over 18 Years of Age
If you are under 18 years of age and are preparing for your New Hampshire DMV knowledge test or the drivers test, you can practice driving only while being supervised by a licensed driver at least 25 years of age. This is the only mandatory restriction that is placed onto you, however, you are strongly advised to follow these rules and stay safe:
- No cell phones or other communication/entertainment devices. If you don't have much driving experience, try to avoid distracted driving as much as possible. Keep your eyes on the road and your hands on the wheel.
- Seat belts. Wear a seat belt yourself and have everyone else in the vehicle wear a seat belt too.
- Passengers. Try to minimize the number of people present in the vehicle when you practice driving. Other people in the car may distract you from the road, plus you don't want to take responsibility for other lives at this point.
Pay as much attention to the road and traffic conditions around you and don't speed. The faster you drive, the less time you have to react to the changing on road conditions. Remember: these are not mandatory permit restrictions, but they may save your life one day.
If you would like to prepare for the DMV test, you can take a free New Hampshire DMV practice test that will help you get accustomed to the wording used at the testing station.
New Hampshire Supervised Driving Restrictions - Under 18 Years of Age
If you are younger than 18, you are subject to the New Hampshire graduated drivers license program and you must abide to its rules. What this means for you is that you cannot get a drivers license right away and have to fulfill certain requirements before taking your knowledge exam and the drivers test.
For once, you have to be at least 15 ½ years of age to be able to get behind the wheel and go for a cruise. Even then, you must be supervised by a parent, legal guardian or any other licensed driver at least 25 years of age. The good news is that you do not have to have a New Hampshire drivers permit in order to be able to practice driving.
The law mandates that you must complete a DMV approved New Hampshire drivers education course before taking the knowledge exam. In addition to completing the course, you must also log at least 20 hours of supervised driving with your parents or legal guardians. You will not be tested unless you fulfill these requirements.
New Hampshire Restricted License
Once you meet the GDL requirements and pass both the knowledge and the drivers test, you will be issued with a junior license. The junior license allows you to drive without a supervising driver, but you have to observe the following license restrictions:
- Curfew. There is a nighttime driving restriction that prohibits you to drive between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. If you need to travel during these hours, you must have a licensed driver at least 25 years of age supervise you.
- Passenger restrictions. For the first six months, no more than one passenger under the age of 25 who is not a member of driver's immediate family is allowed to be in the vehicle. Exceptions can be made only if a supervising driver is present.
- Seat belts. Safety belts must be worn by everyone present in the vehicle.
These restrictions must be observed at all times until you get a full unrestricted drivers license. You can read about the consequences of breaking the graduated license rules in the official New Hampshire DMV handbook.