Wyoming Learners Permit Restrictions - WY Driving Permit Rules
Wyoming Permit Restrictions
Once you receive a drivers permit, you can start practicing driving. However, your permit does not grant you full driving privileges and you must observe all Wyoming permit restrictions until you pass a drivers test and receive a full driver license. Wyoming permit restrictions are similar to those currently in place in most of other states and are age dependent. In addition to observing the regular drivers permit restrictions, drivers under the age of 17 must also comply with the Wyoming graduated drivers license program requirements.
Since teen drivers are usually subjected to more permit restrictions, the frequently find these restrictions and requirements to be unfair and don't understand the need for them. Really, why not let everyone who's able to pass a Wyoming permit test and a driver skills exam drive without all these restrictions? The fact that the applicant is able to pass the required tests proves that he is a good driver, doesn't it?
Unfortunately, being able to pass the tests does not make you a good driver, it just proves that you know the driving rules and are able to perform some basic driving maneuvers. Becoming a good driver takes a lot of experience and there is only one way to gain that experience - to get behind the wheel and get as many driving hours as possible.
Statistics show us that the first years of driving are the most dangerous ones and one in every five drivers has a traffic accident within a year or receiving a Wyoming drivers license. This happens exactly for the reasons stated above - a driver already possesses a drivers license but doesn't have the skills required for dealing with any outside the box on-road situation. That's where the Wyoming permit restrictions come into play. Restrictions were developed basing on statistical data that analyses the most common causes of traffic accidents among drivers with low driving experience and they were designed to discourage or prevent you from getting into a situation that can lead to an accident. So even though learners permit restrictions may seem as a nuisance right now, remember that they are there to keep you safe until you get through your first year of driving.
Permit Restrictions - 17 Years of Age and Older
If you are at least 17 years of age, the application procedure for a drivers license that you have to go through differs from that followed by younger license applicants. In fact, you don't even have to apply for a Wyoming learners permit in order to practice driving and so there won't be any “permit restrictions” so to speak of. However, when you are practicing driving, you must make sure to have a licensed driver at least 18 years of age seated in the front seat next to you.
Although you don't have to apply for a drivers permit, you still have to submit to the same testing procedures as younger drivers license applicants. Prior to being issued with a divers license, you will have to pass a learners permit test and a Wyoming drivers license test. If you want to see what kind of questions come up on the permit exam, you may go ahead and take a free Wyoming permit practice test.
Permit Restrictions - Under 17 Years of Age
If you are under 17 years of age, you have to follow the Wyoming graduated license law that dictates a number of additional requirements that you will need to meet. You can read about the graduated license law in the Wyoming drivers manual or on the Wyoming DOT website.
When you receive a learners permit, you can start your driving practice. During these practice sessions, you have to observe the following Wyoming permit restrictions:
- Supervised driving only. You must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 18 years of age whenever you are driving. The supervising driver must be seated in the front seat next to you and must be prepared to take control of the vehicle at any time.
- Seat belts. Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seat belt.
- No cell phones. You cannot use a cell phone or any other communication or entertainment device while driving. No exceptions.
In addition to following these drivers permit restrictions, you will need to meet other graduated license requirements, such as completion of at least 50 hours of supervised driving with parents. You may also want to consider completing a Wyoming drivers education course at this point. If you complete a state-approved drivers ed class, you can get full driving privileges at the age of 16 ½ years and to avoid taking the drivers test.
Intermediate License Restrictions
If you are between 16 and 17 years of age, have met all graduated license requirements and have held a learners permit for at least six months, you can be issued with an intermediate drivers license. Although an intermediate license allows you to start driving without parental supervision, it still has the following driving restrictions:
- Curfew. No driving alone between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. Exceptions can be made in cases when there is a supervising driver seated next to you or you are driving to a school or employment related activity for which no other transportation is available.
- Passenger restrictions. No more than one passenger under the age of 18 unless there is a supervising driver seated next to the licensee.
- Seat belts. Safety belts must be worn by everyone.
- No cell phones. You cannot talk on a cell phone or text while driving. No exceptions for hands-free devices.
If you have completed a drivers education course, these restrictions will be lifted once you reach the age of 16 ½ years. Otherwise, you will not be awarded full driving privileges until you are at least 17 years of age.
Penalties for Breaking Permit Restrictions
If you are caught breaking Wyoming permit restrictions or the graduated drivers license restrictions, your first offense will result in a mandatory 30 days suspension of your driving privileges on top of the regular fine. After this suspension, you will have to wait another six months before you can apply for an intermediate drivers license or full driving privileges. Frequent offenders will be striped of all driving privileges altogether.