Maine Learners Permit Restrictions - ME Driving Permit Rules
Maine Permit Restrictions
Once you receive a learners permit in Maine, you can get behind the wheel and start practicing driving. However, there are certain permit restrictions that you need to observe until you pass a drivers test and receive a drivers license. The Maine permit restrictions were designed to prevent inexperienced drivers from making the most common driving mistakes and to keep the roads safe. Permit restrictions depend on the age and experience of a licensee and you can always consult with the BMV or check the drivers handbook for restrictions that apply to you. A graduated drivers license law places additional Maine permit restrictions onto drivers under the age of 21.
Many people wonder why these restrictions were developed and why do we need to restrict someone who has passed all of the required testing procedures? The answer is simple - being able to pass a drivers test does not make you a safe driver, it just proves that you have mastered the basic driving skills and are ready to being the journey towards becoming a good driver. Permit and license restrictions were designed to help you get through the first and most dangerous years of your driving career, so make sure to observe them at all times.
Maine Permit Restrictions - Over 21 Years of Age
If you are at least 21 years of age, there is only one real restriction that you will have to observe once you obtain a Maine learners permit and that is no driving alone under any circumstances. You must have a licensed driver at least 20 years old who has a minimum of two years of driving experience seated next to you while you are driving. The supervising driver must be prepared to take control of the vehicle at any time and is there to guide you and help you deal with any difficult on road situation.
Although there are no other mandatory permit restrictions that you have to observe, here are a few safety tips that will do you good:
- No cell phones. Try to avoid talking on a cell phone while driving, even if it's got a hands-free device attached. Talking on a phone is a distracting activity and you need to concentrate on the road.
- Don't play with the radio. Keep your hands on the steering wheel and your eyes on the road as much as possible. Traffic conditions change every second, you looking at the radio for three seconds may cost you your life.
- Keep it slow. Don't try to go fast. The faster you go, the less time you have to respond if something happens, so slow down. Try to avoid going places that may require you to go faster than your comfortable speed, such as highways. Always drive in conditions that you can handle.
Remember, these are not compulsory Maine learners permit restrictions, they are just tips that you may choose to follow. You supervising driver should be able to give you more pointers during your driving sessions.
Although you are not required to take any mandatory class, you will still have to be tested before you are issued with a learners permit and that means that you will have to take a Maine permit test. The test covers the state driving laws, traffic signs and safe driving habits and you should spend some time reading the drivers handbook before taking a shot at the exam. Maine permit practice tests can help you decide whether you are ready for the real thing.
Maine Permit Restrictions - Graduated License Program
If you are under 21 years of age, you are subject to the Maine graduated drivers license program and you will have to meet a number of additional requirements before you can be granted an unrestricted drivers license.
First of all, if you are younger than 18, you must complete a BMV-approved Maine driver's education class. The certificate of completion that you get by taking the class must be presented at the BMV when you submit your application for a permit.
Secondly, you cannot drive alone while operating under a learners permit. Whenever you are behind the wheel, you must have a licensed driver at least 20 years of age who has a minimum of two years of driving experience seated next to you while you are driving. Every permit holder who is under the age of 21 must possess a permit for at least six months and complete a minimum of 35 hours of driving, including five hours at night, before a drivers license can be issued.
Drivers under the age of 18 are strictly prohibited from using a cell phone or any other communication device while driving.
Restricted Drivers License
Once the above requirements are met, a drivers license can be issued. If you are 18 years of age or older, you are issued with a provisional drivers license. A provisional license is different from a regular Maine drivers license in the sense that if you are convicted of a moving violation while driving with a provisional license, your driving privileges are suspended for at least 30 days. The provisional period is two years for drivers 16 to 20 years of age and one years for those 21 years of age and older.
Drivers under the age of 18 are issued with a restricted drivers license that has the following conditions:
- Curfew. There is a nighttime driving restriction, you are prohibited from driving between midnight and 5 a.m.
- Passenger restrictions. You cannot carry any passengers who are not members of your household unless there is a supervising driver at least 20 years of age with a minimum of two years of driving experience seated next to you.
Usage of cell phone while driving is prohibited until the driver reaches the age of 18. The official Maine drivers manual can provide you with detailed information on the consequences of breaking this and other drivers permit restrictions.