Idaho Learners Permit Restrictions - ID Driving Permit Rules
Idaho Permit Restrictions
Learners permit is the first document that allows you to get behind the wheel and go for a drive. However, there are many Idaho permit restrictions that must be observed at all times while driving. The learners permit restrictions that apply to your permit largely depend on your age and the type of the permit you are operating under. Teenagers are subjected to additional permit restrictions under the Idaho graduated license law. Failure to observe all Idaho drivers permit restrictions may result in your driving privileges being suspended of canceled.
Although most of the first time license applicants complain about the restrictions and don't see the need for them, the reason why these restrictions exist is very simple and it is traffic safety. If you just been licensed, chances are that you don't have much driving experience. In fact, if you are over 17 years of age, haven't taken any drivers ed classes and just got your Idaho instruction permit, you probably don't have any driving hours whatsoever, as it is illegal for you to operate a vehicle without a license or a permit. So when you do get behind the wheel, you have only theoretical knowledge of how the car operates and what actions you must take in order to make it go the way you want. That is where the Idaho permit restrictions come into play. Permit restrictions were designed to discourage you from making the most common mistakes made by those who just got licensed and they work to create a safe driving environment for you to practice your driving skills in. If you look at them from this perspective, you will see that the restrictions are there only to guard you, not to inhibit you in any way.
Idaho drivers permit restrictions that you need to observe depend on your age and type of the permit your are currently holding. Drivers who are under 17 years are subject to the Idaho graduated drivers license program and must submit to additional requirements, permit restrictions and license limitation. If you are over 17 years of age, the graduated license law does now apply to you.
Idaho Permit Restrictions - 17 Years Old and Older
If you are at least 17 years of age, you can apply for a class D instruction permit without taking any drivers education classes. You can apply for a permit by visiting a drivers testing facility and taking two examinations - a vision test and an Idaho permit test. The permit test will cover the state driving rules, road signs and safe driving practices and you can prepare for the test by reading a drivers license handbook and taking free Idaho practice permit tests.
Once you are issued with your class D instruction permit, you can start practicing your driving skills, provided you have another licensed driver seated in the front seat next to you. The supervising driver must be at least 18 years of age and must be prepared to take control of the vehicle at any time. This is really the only restrictions that applies to your Idaho learners permit.
Although there are no rules that prevent you from talking on a cell phone or playing with the radio while driving, we strongly advise that you do not engage in such activities until you gain at least some driving experience. Distracted driving is a very matter that frequently leads to traffic accidents. The situation on the road may change in the matter of seconds, so try to avoid taking your eyes off the road and your hands off the steering wheel.
Idaho Driver Training Permit Restrictions
Applying for a Idaho drivers training permit is the first step of the state graduated license system. You must be at least 14 years, 6 months old in order to be eligible for this type of a permit. The permit is intended only for taking a state-approved Idaho drivers education class and it is not valid unless there is a licensed driving instructor who is currently instructing you in driving is present in the vehicle. You cannot drive neither alone nor with your parents while you hold a driver training permit. Everyone in the vehicle must wear seat belts.
Once you successfully complete 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of in car observation and 6 hours of behind the wheel driving and get your proof of completion of a drivers education course, your permit is upgraded to a Supervised Instruction Permit - SIP.
Supervised Instruction Permit - SIP Restrictions
The SIP is the second step of the graduate license system. At this stage, you are expected to get as many hours of driving experience as possible before applying for a drivers license and taking the Idaho drivers skill test. According to the current rules, you must hold your supervised instruction permit for at lest six months and complete the minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving, with 10 hours done at night. The SIP restrictions are as following:
- No driving alone. You must have a licensed driver 21 years old or older seated next to you at all times.
- Seat belts. Seat belts must be worn by everyone present in the vehicle.
- Conviction-free driving. If you are convicted of a traffic offense while driving under the SIP, your driving privileges are suspended for 30 days. At the of this period, you have to start the application procedure from the beginning.
Once the holding period is up, you can visit one of the drivers license testing centers, take both the knowledge and driving tests and get your restricted drivers license. You can find a nearest testing station in the Idaho DMV handbook or through the DMV website.
Teen License Restrictions
Once you fulfill the GDL requirements of previous stages and pass the tests, you are issued with an Idaho drivers license. Although this license allows you to drive alone, it still comes with the following license restrictions:
- Curfew. If you are under 16 years of age, you are subject to the nighttime driving restriction. You can drive during daylight hours only, unless you are accompanied by a supervising driver at least 21 years of age.
- Passenger restrictions. For the first six months, no more than one passenger who is under 17 years and who is not member of the driver's immediate family is allowed in the car. This restriction can be ignored if there is a supervising driver present.
Once these license restrictions are lifted, you end up with a full unrestricted drivers license.