Massachusetts Learners Permit Restrictions
Massachusetts Learners Permit Restrictions - MA Driving Permit Rules
Having a learners permit allows you to start your driving lessons and it comes as a great joy to most teenagers. However, you must never forget that driving is a big responsibility and you have to treat it with due seriousness. Your Massachusetts learners permit comes with a number of permit restrictions that must be observed at all times. Depending on your age, you may also be subject to Massachusetts graduated license restrictions, so make sure to check out the corresponding rules and regulation before you get out on the road. Failure to observe Massachusetts learners permit restrictions may result in a large fine and suspension or revocation of your driving privileges!
Why Do We Need These Permit Restrictions
If you just received your Massachusetts learners permit chances are you don't have that many hours of driving experience. Your first year of driving is probably the most dangerous time you are going to have on public roads. You are just making your first steps towards becoming a safe driver and you don't have the skills required for dealing with many on-road situation. That's when the Massachusetts permit restrictions come into play, they are there to discourage you from driving in conditions that can potentially lead to a traffic accident.
The situation is even more gruesome when it comes to teenage drivers. According to the national statistics, drivers who are under 20 years of age have the highest risk of being involved in a traffic accident among drivers of all other age groups. One in every five teenage drivers have a traffic accident in their first year of driving. There is an argument that raising a legal driving age to at least 18 should take care of most of these issues, however at the moment the state is trying to correct the situation with a Massachusetts graduated drivers license system. In a few words, the graduated license program is a set of additional requirements, permit and license restrictions that apply to drivers under the age of 18. Those who choose to apply for a drivers license before they turn 18 have to complete additional classes and stack numerous hours of supervising driving with parents behind their belts before they can be granted a Massachusetts drivers license.
Massachusetts Permit Restrictions - Over 18
If you are over 18 years of age, there are not that many MA learners permit restrictions for you to observe. Just like drivers license applicants of other ages, you have to start by taking the Massachusetts permit test at a local Registry of Motor Vehicles office. The test is provided in an electronic form and you will be able to study some permit practice test MA questions before you start the real exam (if you want to study at home, go ahead and check out this free MA RMV practice permit test or these drivers permit practice test MA questions online). Once you pass the drivers permit test and get your permit, you are to observe the following rule:
- No driving alone. Whenever you wish to practice driving, make sure you have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated next to you. The supervising driver must have at least one year of driving experience.
The whole point of these Massachusetts learners permit restrictions is to give you an opportunity to acquire some driving experience before you take your road test and start driving alone. You have to make sure to observe this permit rule, if you are caught driving alone, your permit can get suspended for at least a few months.
Massachusetts Permit Restrictions - Under 18
If you are under 18 years of age, you are to observe the same limitations as all other drivers - you are not to drive alone. You must make sure to have a licensed driver supervise you whenever you get behind the wheel.
One of the rules of the graduated license system is that you have to hold your drivers permit for at least six months before you can take a road test. During this period, you must complete a Massachusetts drivers education program and log at least 40 supervised driving hours with your parents - they will need to provide a statement that you fulfilled this requirements when you will be applying for a permit.
If you convicted of a traffic violation while driving with your permit, the permit can be suspended and the six months waiting period will be restarted. You can read more about the penalties for breaking the graduated permit restrictions in the Massachusetts drivers handbook.
When you fulfill the requirements of this stage and take your Massachusetts driving test, you are issued with a junior driver license.
Massachusetts Junior License Restrictions
The junior drivers license allows you to drive unsupervised, but you must still observe the following Mass junior license restrictions. These license restrictions will be lifted in six months, provided you keep a clean driving record.
- Curfew. No driving alone between 12:30 a.m. and 5 a.m. If you need to drive during these hours, you must have a parent or legal guardian accompany you.
- Passenger restrictions. You cannot have any passengers under the age of 18 in the vehicle unless you are being accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and who occupies the front seat.
If you are convicted of breaking these rules, your junior license will be suspended. The drivers handbook contains detailed information about the penalties that come from breaking Massachusetts learners permit and drivers license restrictions.