New Mexico Drivers Ed - New Mexico Drivers Education
New Mexico Drivers Ed
If you are under 18 years of age and you are applying for a drivers license in New Mexico, taking a drivers education class is not an option, it is a must. New Mexico drivers ed courses are an essential part of the GDL system and they ensure that all teen drivers are well prepared for the challenges they face on the road every day.
New Mexico Graduated Driver System
The graduated drivers license system in New Mexico is similar to those currently in place in many other states and it pursues the same goals - making the roads safer for everyone. Driving is a big risk factor for teenagers, largely due to the lack of driving experience and failure to estimate the risks. The GDL laws are on the other side of the scale, trying to improve these statistics by enforcing compulsory drivers education and permit restrictions onto the teen drivers. These measures have been shown to have a positive effect on the crash rates among teenagers, which justifies the higher price of obtaining a drivers license and other minor inconveniences.
Applicants who are 18 to 24 years old are not required to take a drivers education program, but they have to complete a DWI self-study course. The class will educate future drivers on the dangers of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and the penalties such offence may incur.
Those who are applying for the New Mexico drivers license and who are 25 years old or older are not required to take neither the driver's ed program, not the DWI course, but it may still be a good idea to take some sort of the self-study lessons in order to get prepared for your New Mexico permit test at the DMV.
Drivers Ed To The Test
If you are applying for a drivers permit, there is no way around the New Mexico permit exam. The exam will test your current knowledge of the state driving rules and you must pass it before you can advance to the next step.
If you have not taken a driver's education program before your test, you may get a free copy of the MVD drivers manual and use it as your main study guide. Practice tests may also help you learn the permit questions faster.
Drivers Education Classes
The drivers education classes in New Mexico are offered by high schools and private driving schools. The prices may vary greatly, so you should shop around before choosing the drivers education school for your lessons. You must also ensure that the course you're about to take is certified by the New Mexico Traffic Safety Bureau (TSB).
New Mexico Driver's Ed Curriculum
The drivers education program in New Mexico consist of at least 35 hours of classroom instruction time and this time is mostly used to go through the materials presented in the drivers manual.
The classroom instruction time must be followed by 50 hours of supervised driving instruction. Once you complete everything, you are issued with the drivers education certificate of completion.