New Jersey Drivers Ed - New Jersey Drivers Education
New Jersey Drivers Ed
Drivers education classes are mandatory for New Jersey license applicants and are a key element of the GDL system. If you are older than 17, you are not required to take a state-certified New Jersey driver's education class, but it is still a good idea to do so.
New Jersey Graduated Drivers
The graduated drivers license system in New Jersey is very similar to that in many other states. If you are under 17 years of age and you would like to apply for a license, the state requires you to complete a 6 hour behind the wheel classthat will provide you with the basic safe driving skills. The GDL laws also enforce certain restrictions for the underage drivers.
No matter how old you are, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) requires you to take a permit test before you can be granted the privilege to drive. Good news for those who have enrolled in and are taking a drivers education program - the course teaches you what you need to know about the test. Those of you who have not signed up for a drivers ed class, it is still not too late to do so.
If you decide to skip on the driver's ed, you may want to visit the MVC and pick up a copy of the New Jersey drivers manual. The handbook covers the driving rules in great details and even though it is no substitute for the drivers education program, it will still give you a sound knowledge of traffic laws. Should you want to test yourself before taking the exam, you may take a practice test or two.
Drivers Ed Curriculum
The state-certified drivers education courses in New Jersey all follow the same format. You will be required to complete 30 hours of classroom instruction, followed by 6 hours of behind the wheel lessons. Please note: you must receive your New Jersey student learners permit before you can start the driving lessons.
The classroom drivers ed consist of the following topics:
- Road rules
- Traffic Signs
- Driving Under Influence
- Basic Driving Techniques
The behind the wheel portion of the class will allow you to get some hands-on experience with operating a vehicle. You will only have 6 hours with a professional instructor, so use this time wisely, make sure that you get the most for your money.
Drivers Education Classes
If you are looking to take a drivers ed class in New Jersey, you have multiple options when it comes to selecting the drivers education school. The classes are offered in high schools or you may choose to take the course at one of the professional driving schools. Whatever your choice is, make sure that the course is certified by the MVC before you pay the price.
Although the drivers education course is not required for the drivers license applicants who are over 17 years of age, you should still consider taking the class as there is no such thing as too much safety. Your friend will never be able to teach you the driving techniques you learn at school, unless your friend is a professional driving instructor.