Massachusetts Driving Test
Massachusetts Drivers Test
Before you can be issued with a drivers license, the Registry of Motor vehicles needs to make sure that you can safely operate a vehicle. This is where the 2013 Massachusetts drivers test comes in. The MA driving test is the ultimate exam for your driving ability, designed to prove that you have the skills required for controlling a vehicle and that you will not pose danger to other drivers around you. Contrary to the common belief, the Massachusetts driving test doesn't just test your driving skills, your knowledge of Massachusetts driving rules will also be assessed, so it may be a good idea for you to revise the state's driving handbook before go in for the road test. You may also consider taking some free practice permit test MA questions, they will show you how much time needs to be spent on the book. Scheduling the drivers license test in Massachusetts is easy - you can either schedule the road test online or by calling the automated phone service system, either way it only takes a few minutes. Be prepared and pass your 2013 Mass driving test the first time!
Drivers License Test Requirements
Taking the MA driving test is the final step of the road towards a Massachusetts drivers license and you will need to meet certain requirements before you get to this stage. Drivers license requirements are age dependent and teenagers need to follow the graduated driver's license law as well as meeting general requirements that apply to everyone else. Although this may seem as discrimination to some, this measure is fully justified, since teen drivers have crash rates that are four times higher than those for older drivers.
Under 18 Years of Age
The graduated driver's license program in Massachusetts is also known as the Junior Operator License Law. You can enter the program if you are at least 16 years of age. The first step of the process is obtaining a drivers permit. When you are of the legal age, visit the nearest RMV office, submit the required paperwork, take a vision exam and a Massachusetts permit test. Once you are through with the examination procedures, you are issued with a drivers permit and you can start your driving practice.
You will have to hold on to your drivers permit for at least six months before you can go ahead and schedule your Massachusetts driving test. During these months, you are to complete a Massachusetts driver's education course and to receive at least 40 hours of supervised driving from your parents or legal guardians. If you plan on taking a road skills test before your 18th birthday, one of your parents will also need to attend a two-hour driver's education program.
When the above requirements are met, you are good to go ahead and schedule your Massachusetts road test. If you pass the test, you will be issued with a junior license and you will need to observe all Massachusetts junior driver's license restrictions for the specified period.
18 Years of Age and Older
Those who are at least 18 years of age when they decide to take the Massachusetts driving test don't need to concern themselves with graduated license laws and requirements, however they still need to go through the same testing procedures. Your first step is receiving a Massachusetts drivers permit. Visit the RMV where you can file your application, pay the required fees, take a vision exam and a permit test. You can prepare for the knowledge exam by reading the drivers license manual and taking a Massachusetts drivers permit practice test. Keep in mind: this is not the only practice test that we offer and should you grow tired of it, you can always switch to taking this Massachusetts RMV practice test or studying free practice permit test MA questions.
If you pass all examinations at the RMV, you are issued with a driving permit that allows you to practice driving. Keep in mind that you do not have full driving privileges yet and have to observe all Massachusetts driver's permit restrictions. Thus, you are not allowed to drive alone and must have a supervising driver at least 21 years of age seated next to you at all times until you pass your MA driving test and get a full unrestricted license.
Once you have gained some driving experience, schedule the driving test with the Massachusetts RMV. If you complete the test successfully, you will be issued with a Massachusetts drivers license with no restrictions on it.
Scheduling the Driving Test
There are a few ways you could schedule a road test in Massachusetts - you can do so online or over the phone.
Scheduling the MA driving test online is probably the most convenient option - it is easy, quick, and the system is available to around the clock. Just log into the RMV website at mass.gov/rmv/roadtests/index.htm, where you can select a city or town where you intend to take the test.
If the online option is inaccessible for you, you can schedule the Massachusetts driver's test over the phone. Call the automated service line at 866-627-7768 any time day or night.
If you need to reschedule your driving test appointment, you may do so at no extra charge, provided you notify the RMV of the change at least 24 hours prior to the appointment time. You will be charged a full testing fee if you reschedule within the 24 hour timeframe.
Those who require to schedule a drivers license test for hearing impaired may call 877-768-8833. You will leave your contact details with the system and the RMV will arrange for an interpreter for your driving exam.
Things to Bring / What to Expect
According to the current law, everyone taking the driving test in Massachusetts must have a sponsor. A sponsor must be at least 21 years of age, hold a valid drivers license (foreign licenses are not accepted) and have at least one year of driving experience. The sponsor will need to come to the road test with you and will be riding a read seat during the test. Make sure you arrange for a sponsor to be present before you visit the RMV for your driving test appointment. The Massachusetts drivers license handbook has more information on sponsor requirements.
You must also provide the vehicle for your Massachusetts RMV driving test since the state does not have any vehicles available. The vehicle must be registered, titled and be in good mechanical condition. You must carry proper liability insurance for the vehicle. If you use a rental vehicle, you will need to present your rental contract that will show your name and a letter of authorization from the rental service, acknowledging the fact that you will be taking your driving test in the vehicle.
Please arrive at least five minutes early for your Massachusetts drivers test appointment to allow your driving examiner sufficient time to check your paperwork. If you are late for the appointment, you will not be tested, but you will still be charged the testing fee. Driving tests are conducted on a tight schedule so you will not be allowed to start the examination if you are late.
The driver's license test will assess your driving ability and your knowledge of driving rules. Be prepared to do the following things during the MA road skills exam:
- Use hand signals
- Start the engine
- Start and stop the vehicle
- Parallel Park
- Back the vehicle approximately 50 feet
- Make left - right turns
- Start, stop, and turn the vehicle on a hill
- Turn around between curbs (three point turn)
- Enter and leave intersections
- Recognize and obey traffic signs, lights and signals, and other rules of the road
- Use good driving sense
The examiner will score you on how well you can perform the action listed above. In addition to that, your driving posture, your attentiveness and control of the vehicle will be observed.
If you prepaid your drivers license fees and you pass the test, your drivers permit will be stamped by the examiner at the end of the driving test and it will serve as a temporary drivers license for the next 30 days. Your real Massachusetts driver's license will be mailed to you within this period.
If you did not prepay the license fees, you will have to return to a RMV branch, pay the fees and have your permit stamped. The driving test is good for 30 days, if you do not visit the RMV within this period, you will be required to take another Massachusetts driving exam.