Wyoming Drivers Test
Wyoming Drivers License Test - Wyoming Practice Drivers Test
The usual rule of thumb is as following - if you don't have a drivers license issued by another state and want to receive a Wyoming driver license, you have to take a drivers test. Of course, there are exceptions, for example, those who completed a drivers ed class can be exempt from taking the Wyoming drivers test, but in most cases, you will have to go through this examination of your driving skill. You should get as much practice as you can get before you go in for the drivers license test at the Wyoming Department of Transportation.
Wyoming Driver Test Requirements
The requirements that you must meet in order to be eligible for a Wyoming drivers test largely depend on your age and whether you have previously held a driver license, either issued out of state or in Wyoming.
If you are moving to Wyoming, are at least 17 years of age and hold a valid out of state license, chances are that you will not have to take any exams at all. As soon as you become a Wyoming resident, just visit a local DOT office and exchange your out-of-state license for a full Wyoming driver license. In rare cases, you may be asked to take a written or driving exams, usually this only happens to those with a bad driving record.
If you are a Wyoming resident who has never been licensed and are at least 17 years of age, you are required to take a Wyoming permit test before you can get behind the wheel. The permit test covers the state driving rules, road signs and safe driving practices. If you want to see what the DOT permit test is like, you may take a free Wyoming drivers practice test. Once you pass the knowledge exam, you can schedule a drivers license test.
Those who are under 17 years of age and has never been licensed are subject to the Wyoming graduated driver license law and must apply for a Wyoming learners permit first. The permit must be held for at least six months and the applicant must be at least 16 years of age before a Wyoming drivers license test can be administered. A number of additional requirements must be met, such as completion of at least 50 hours of supervised driving. Please check the official Wyoming drivers handbook for these requirements.
There is one way around taking a drivers license test and that is to participate in a state-approved Wyoming drivers education course. A drivers ed class must be completed within two years of the application date and you must have a certification card to prove it.
What to Expect on The Wyoming DOT Drivers Test
During the driving test, the examiner will try to evaluate your ability to control the vehicle and to observe the rules of the road and all road signs at the same time. Although the full list of driving maneuvers that you may be asked to perform on the real Wyoming driver test is much larger, here are a few common things that come up on virtually every driving test:
- Stop signs and traffic signals. You have to observe the signs and follow the traffic signals at all times.
- Backing. You will be required to maneuver your vehicle while backing.
- Quick stop. You will need to demonstrate that you are able to control the vehicle during a sudden stop, without skidding your wheels.
- Parallel parking. This one come up on every drivers test and is probably the most feared maneuver out there. Make sure you practice as much as possible somewhere in a parking lot.
- Clutch usage. Applies only to those who are taking the test on a vehicle with manual transmission.
When you practice for your drivers test, these are the things you should pay attention to. Try not to jam everything into one quick practice session as it won't do you much good, acquiring driving experience and proficiency requires time. Grab a relative or a friend with a valid drivers license who can sit next to you during these practice sessions and ask your friend to look for any mistake you may make. It is also a good idea to take a few driving lessons with a professional driving instructor. Taking driving lessons through a driving school is better than just driving around with relatives since a professional can help you pinpoint the mistakes that may get you failed on your Wyoming driver test.
Things to Bring to Your Drivers Test
Keep in mind that drivers license testing is conducted on appointment only basis and in most cases, you have to schedule a test well in advance. Make sure that you meet all requirements listed above before you schedule your driving test, otherwise you will be denied the exam and will have to reschedule for a later date.
When you arrive at the testing site, you have to present an acceptable proof of ID, Wyoming residency and your Social security number. You must also provide a vehicle for the test, the DOT does not offer vehicles for drivers license testing. The vehicle must be clean and meet all safety and insurance requirements. If one of these conditions is not met, you are denied the chance to take a driver's test.
If you are under 18 years of age, a parent or legal guardian will need to drive you to the testing site and be present on site during your test. A parent will need to sign a Minor release form, authorizing you to be licensed.
Things That Get You Failed
There are certain things that may have you fail your Wyoming drivers test right away, such as having a traffic accident or running a red light. Below is a short list of driving offenses that may result in you failing the exam:
- Failure to obey traffic rules or road signs
- Failure to obey school zone rules
- Straddling marked lanes
- Driving too close to pedestrians, bicycles or vehicles
- Driving left to center
- Running off the roadway
- Having an incident or making a contact with another vehicle
- Failing to yield right of way
This is just a short list of things that prevent people from passing the driver's license test, but it gives you a fair idea of what you should not do on the exam. In fact, you should never do these things as you will be penalized for them.
Once You Pass
You can only take the drivers test once every 24 hours. If you commit too many mistakes during the driving exam, the examiner may ask you to spend more time practicing and not to return for at least three days.
Those who successfully pass the Wyoming driving test are issued with a drivers license. Certain licenses have restrictions placed onto them, so if you have a restriction code placed onto your license, make sure you know what it stands for. Under the Wyoming graduated license law, drivers under the age of 17 are issued with an intermediate drivers license that still has certain driving restrictions.