Wyoming Drivers License
Wyoming Drivers License
Whether you are a resident of Wyoming or came from another state, if you want to drive on public roads, you will have to have a valid driver's license. Those who already hold a driving license issued by a different state can swap it for the Wyoming driver license without any additional testing.
Types of Driver Licenses
The type of the drivers license that you need depends on the vehicle that you will operate in the future. At the moment, the Department of Transportation in Wyoming offers the following types of driver licenses:
- Class C. Regular drivers license.
- Restricted drivers license for minors.
- Motorcycle drivers license.
- Commercial driver licenses, CDLs.
Once you choose the appropriate type of the drivers license, you can visit one of the DOT offices and take your driver license exam.
Graduated Drivers License
Back in 2005, Wyoming adopted the graduated drivers license system. The graduated license law apply to drivers license applicants who are under 17 years of age and it breaks down the licensing procedure into a few steps, each step bringing the driver to a new level of experience. According to the Wyoming GDL law, teenager who want to get a license have to go through two additional stages - the learners permit and the intermediate permit - before they can be issued with an unrestricted driver license. Completion of a state-approved drivers education class can help the applicant to achieve the regular drivers license sooner.
Applying for Drivers License
If you are over 17 years of age, you can go ahead and apply for the drivers license right away. Applicants who are under 17 years old must obtain the Wyoming learners permit and fulfill the GDL requirements prior to applying for the license.
If you are ready to apply for the license, you can visit one of the DOT offices. No appointment is necessary, the applications are processed on the walk in basis. When at the office, be prepared to do the following:
- present proof of ID
- present your the Social Security number
- fill in the application for drivers license
- pay the driver's license fee
- pass a vision test
- pass a written test
- pass a driving test
If you are under 18 years of age, your parents or legal guardians will need to sign a minor's release form.
Please note that although you can submit your application and take a permit exam any time during the DOT business hours, Wyoming drivers license testing is conducted on appointment-only basis. Make sure to call in advance and reserve a time slot for your driving exam
If you fulfill the above requirements and pass the tests, you will be awarded with the temporary drivers license. You official drivers license will be mailed to you within 3-4 weeks.
If you would like to study for the Wyoming permit test, you can grab a copy of the Wyoming driver license book. The manual provides a detailed coverage of the state driving law, road signs and should have the answers to all your driving-related questions. If you would like to test yourself before you go in for the real exam, you can take a few practice permit tests. The practice tests should not be used as a sole source of information as they don't have enough information for you to pass the real exam.
Restricted Drivers License
In certain situations, the state can make an exception and issue a drivers license to applicants who are between 14 and 16 years old. This type of license is called Wyoming restricted driver license and it is issued for the purpose of attending school activities and getting to and from work. In order to be eligible to the restricted license, you must live more than 5 miles away from school or work. You will not be able to drive at night-time and you cannot travel more than 50 miles away from your house.