Idaho Drivers Ed - Idaho Drivers Education
Idaho Drivers Ed
Drivers education classes are a must for all Idaho drivers who are under 17 years of age. If you are over this age, you are not required to take the Idaho drivers education class by the state, but it may still be a good idea to do so for the sake of your safety.
Idaho Graduated Drivers License
Teenagers belong to a high risk group when it comes to driving and the Idaho GDL laws are called upon to reduce the number of road accidents that involve teenage drivers. This is achieved by having teenagers take the compulsory driver's ed classes, restricting their driving privileges with the learner's permit and pairing them up with a more experienced driver for their first driving experience.
Drivers Ed Locations
Your local high school is by far the most popular place to take a drivers education class. And the good thing is that you do not have to be a high school student to take a drivers ed program through the school, you can just sign up for the class.
If classes at your local high school are unavailable to you for some reason, you may take a drivers education program through one of the commercial driving schools, most of them provide this type of instruction.
Idaho Drivers Ed Curriculum
According to the DMV requirements, every state-approved Idaho drivers education program must include at least 30 hours of classroom instruction and at least 6 hours of behind the wheel training.
If you taking the class at a local high school, the course will be divided into 42 days during the school year and 30 days during summer. Taking the drivers ed class through a commercial provider can allow you to complete the course within 10 days.
Reasons To Take Drivers Ed
As mentioned above, all Idaho drivers license applicants who are under 7 years of age MUST take a drivers education class, it is one of the key requirements for being licensed. The course is also a great way to prepare for your Idaho learners permit test.
Whichever program you choose, one of your main concerns should be if the program is certified by the state. Taking a driver's education class that will not be accepted by the DMV is a waste of your time and money.