Mississippi Drivers License
Mississippi Drivers License
If you do not hold an out-of-state drivers license and you would like to drive a vehicle on Mississippi roads, you will need to apply for the Mississippi drivers license. The first step in the application process is choosing the right type of the Mississippi driver’s license.
Mississippi Drivers License Types
At the moment, the following types of licenses are offered in Mississippi:
- Class LP. Mississippi learner’s permit, the first license you get.
- Class Y. Intermediate license, issued only to applicants who are under 18 years of age.
- Class R. Regular driver’s license, allows you to operate most of the regular vehicles.
- Class D Non-commercial. Issued to applicants who intend to operate taxis, large vehicles and other non-commercial transports.
- Class E. Motorcycle drivers license. May come as an endorsement to your regular license.
- Class A, B and C. Commercial driver’s licenses, CDLs.
If this is your first driver’s license, you will need to apply for the learner’s permit first, and then upgrade it either to the intermediate license or the regular drivers license, depending on how old you are.
Mississippi Graduated Drivers License
Mississippi has it’s own version of the graduated driver’s license system. Although the GDL laws may seem complex to some, it fact, they are very simple and they do achieve the goals they were designed to achieve. Due to the lack of driving experience, teenagers have the highest crash rates among all age groups. The graduated license law state that all license applicants who are under 18 years of age have to go through a series of steps before they are awarded with an unrestricted license. Each step of the licensing process features its own challenge, such as a Mississippi driver’s education course or the supervised driving period. When the student finally gets out on the road with his unrestricted Mississippi driver’s license, he already has some driving hours and an educational course up his sleeve to help him get through most of the on-road situations.
Mississippi Permit Test
Every drivers license and learner’s permit applicant is required to take a permit test at one of the DPS offices. If you are younger than 18, you must take a driver’s education class. Those who are over 15 do not have to take the course, but may still wish to do so in order to prepare for the DPS exam.
If you are looking for other study materials, the Mississippi drivers manual is your first stop for information on any driving-related questions. Once you’ve gone over the manual, take a Mississippi practice test to make sure you know your thing.
Once you pass the permit exam at the driver’s license office, you will be issued with your instructional permit.
Drivers License Test
The learner’s permit does not give you unrestricted driving privileges and you must have another licensed driver supervise you at all times while you are honing your driving skills. When you are ready to the driving test, call the DPS and schedule a driver license test appointment with them. You will be required to provide your own vehicle for the test, the vehicle being properly insured and titled.
If you pass your driving test, the DPS will issue you either with the intermediate drivers license (if you are under 18) or the regular drivers license (if you are over 18).