Michigan Drivers License
Michigan Drivers License
If you do not hold a license issued by another state and you plan on driving on Michigan roads, you will need to apply for the Michigan drivers license. Your first step in the application process should be choosing the right type of Michigan driving license.
Michigan License Types
At the moment, the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) offers the following drivers licenses:
- Class O. Operator’s drivers license, also referred to as a regular drivers license.
- Moped License. Allows for operation of mopeds and scooters.
- Class CY. Motorcycle drivers license, comes as an endorsement to your regular license.
- Chauffeur’s license. Allows you to operate school buses, taxi and other transports designed to carry a large number of passenger.
- Class A, B and C. Commercial drivers license, CDLs.
If this is your first drivers license, you should probably consider obtaining a regular operator’s license. You can upgrade it to a different class once you gain some driving experience.
Michigan Graduated License
If you are under 18 years of age and you intend to apply for a drivers license, you are subject to the Michigan graduated drivers license laws. The problem with teenage drivers is that they lack the essential driving experience. Combine that with the reckless behavior common to most teenagers and you get an explosive mix. The GDL laws are there to counteract this by making teen go through mandatory driver’s ed and behind the wheel classes.
All Michigan drivers license applicants are required to pass a knowledge exam on driving rules. If you are under 18 years of age, the test is included in your drivers education class. If you are over 18 years of age, you will need to take the test at one of the SoS offices.
If you would like to prepare for the test, you may refer to the Michigan drivers manual. The manual contains the information necessary to pass the exam. Taking a few practice tests won’t hurt either as they will allow you to see how well you are prepared for the real thing.
While most of the other states issue just one type of a learner’s license, Michigan has a number of them. If you are over 18 and you passed your written exam, you will be issued with the Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP). If you are under 18 years of age, you are issued with the Level 1 Learner’s License. These documents allow you to start your driving lessons and gain some driving experience before you go in for your drivers license test.
Before you can be issued with a Michigan drivers license, you will need to pass the driver’s license exam. Driving exams are performed by the private testers. When you pass the driving exam, you are issued with the certificate you can take to the SOS. The SOS will grant you a temporary drivers license while the real license is mailed to you within 2 weeks.