Rhode Island Drivers License
Rhode Island Drivers License
If you are thinking of driving on Rhode Island roads and you don't hold a driving license issued by another state, you will need to obtain the Rhode Island drivers license. Having a valid Rhode Island driver's license will allow you to operate your vehicle on public roads all over the country.
Rhode Island Drivers License Classes
One of the first steps towards your Rhode Island driving license is identifying the license that is right for you. At the moment, the following drivers license kinds are offered by the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV):
- Regular drivers license. Allows you to operate most of the common vehicles.
- Class H. Motorcycle drivers license, comes as an endorsement to the regular drivers license.
- Chauffeur driving license.
- Commercial Class A, B and C. Commercial driving licenses, CDLs.
If this is your first drivers license and you do not hold a license issued by another state, you will start by obtaining a regular drivers license. Having a regular drivers license is sufficient for most of the drivers and you will only need to upgrade if you plan on driving a motorcycle or operate heavy machinery.
Graduated Drivers License
Safety is one of the major concerns when it comes to driving. It is even more true when teenage drivers are involved. According to the national statistics, teenage drivers belong to a high-risk group and they are much more likely to be involved in a road accident than a person over 21 years of age. Many factors contribute to these sad statistics and most states have introduced special measures to counteract them. The Rhode Island graduated drivers license system is a set of laws and restrictions that target teenage drivers and increase their safety while they are behind the wheel.
Rhode Island Learners License
First-time drivers license applicants have to obtain a Rhode Island learner's permit before they can be issued with the real license. The learners permit will allow the license applicant to practice driving skills and get ready for the drivers license exam.
Before you can be issued with a learners license, you will have to pass the Rhode Island permit test. The exam covers rules of the road, road signs and safe driving practices. Teenagers who are under 18 years of age can prepare for the permit test by taking a certified Rhode Island drivers education program. The course is compulsory for all underage license applicants, it grants you with a a sound knowledge of traffic laws and prepares you for the permit test.
Those applicants who skipped on drivers ed can prepare for the knowledge exam by studying the drivers license handbook. The handbook is distributed free of charge and you can download it from the Internet or get a copy at your local DMV office. Taking a few Rhode Island permit practice tests is also a good idea as you will be able to see how well you learned the license rules.
Drivers License Restrictions
As per the GDL rules, if you obtain your Rhode Island drivers license before you turn 18, you will be granted with the limited provisional license that will have certain restrictions. Unlike the learners permit, the provisional driving license allows unsupervised driving, but still has a curfew and passenger restrictions.
Upgrading To Full Drivers License
Learners permit holders who are over 18 do not have to go through the provisional drivers license stage and can apply for the unrestricted Rhode Island drivers license. This can be done by taking the road test at the DMV office. Once you successfully complete the driving exam at the DMV, you will either be provided with your drivers license on the spot or you will receive your drivers license in the mail within 2 weeks of taking the test.