Washington Drivers License Restrictions
Washington License Restrictions
In certain cases, a restriction may be placed onto your Washington driver's license. Drivers license restrictions usually limit your driving privileges to operating a vehicle only when certain conditions are met. Washington drivers license restrictions may reflect your health conditions or limitation in your driving ability. An example of a common Washington license restriction is restriction G that is placed onto your license if you do not meet the minimum vision standards. If you require help with figuring out a specific Washington driver's license restriction code, please contact the Department of Licensing.
License Restriction Codes
Unfortunately, we were unable to pull up a full list of restriction codes. Here are the ones we were able to find:
- F - outside mirror
- G - daylight driving only
Sadly, for the full list of restriction that may apply to your Washington driver's license, you have to contact the Department of Licensing.
Intermediate License Restrictions
If you receive a drivers license before your 18th birthday, your drivers license will be marked as intermediate and you will have to follow all Washington intermediate license restrictions. These restrictions are part of Washington's graduated drivers license program, so if you are already over 18 years of age, you are not required to observe them.
The following provisional license restrictions are currently active in Washington:
- Passenger restrictions. For the first six months, you cannot carry any passengers under the age of 20 years, unless they are member of your immediate family. For the next six months, you cannot carry more than three passengers under the age of 20 years.
- Curfew. The nighttime driving restriction prohibits you from driving between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. for the first 12 months unless you have a supervising driver at least 25 years of age seated next to you.
- Cell phones. You cannot use a cell phone or any other communication device while driving. Exceptions can be made if you are making a call to an emergency service.
You have to observe these intermediate license restrictions for at least a year before you can get a full Washington drivers license. During this period, you must keep a clean driving record and not be involved in any traffic accidents. If you turn 18 before the restricted period is up, all restrictions are lifted on your birthday.
The DOL has strict penalties for those who do not observe provisional license restrictions. If you receive a violation, the nighttime driving restrictions are extended until your 18th birthday and your parents are notified of the violation. Second violation is punished by a 6 months suspension. Third violation results in your driving privileges being revoked until you are at least 18 years of age.
Graduated License Restrictions
Graduated drivers license restrictions are not just those restrictions that apply to your intermediate drivers license. While operating under a Washington learners permit, you must also observe the following restrictions:
- Supervised driving only. You are not allowed to drive alone and must have a licensed driver at least 25 years old with at least five years of driving experience seated next to you whenever you are behind the wheel.
- Cell phones. You cannot use a cell phone, even with a hands-free device.
These Washington permit restrictions apply to permit holders of all ages and need to be observed throughout the whole permit holding period.
If you have not taken your Washington permit test yet, make sure to check out Washington drivers practice tests before you chance the real thing.