Apply for Florida Drivers License
Florida Drivers License Application
Most of the people who have not been previously licensed are humbled by the amount of information they have to sift through when the time comes to apply for a Florida drivers license. Most of the applicants don't even know where to start the whole process. We say that you should start by downloading a free copy of the Florida drivers license handbook, since it's got a pretty good description of the whole process and should give you a fair idea of what to do. If you follow the instructions, applying for a Florida driver license should be easy and should not give you much grief. If you are under 18 years of age, please make sure to check out the graduated license section as it outlines additional requirements you will need to meet when applying for a Florida driving license.
Florida Driving License - Under 18 Years of Age
The first step of the process is applying for a Florida learners permit. The minimum age for receiving a permit is 15 years, but you can start preparing much sooner. Grab yourself a copy of the Florida driver's license manual and go over the state driving rules and road signs. This will come in handy when you will be taking a drivers permit test. Prior to taking the permit test, you must also sign up and complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse program. Once that is done, you can visit a local DMV office, take a vision exam and a hearing test and receive your Florida drivers permit.
Your drivers permit allows you to practice driving, however it is not a full driver's license yet and you have to observe all Florida drivers permit restrictions. The permit must be held for at least 12 months and during this period you are only allowed to drive when you have a person with a valid Florida drivers license at least 21 years of age seated in the front seat next to you. You must also complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving hours and not receive any moving violations within these 12 months. If you are convicted of a moving violation, the waiting period is restarted and you cannot apply for a driver's license for another 12 months.
If you meed the Florida graduated drivers license requirements that are listed above, you are good to take your Florida drivers license test. If you pass the drivers test, you will be issued with a provisional drivers license. Although the provisional license allows unsupervised driving in certain conditions, it still comes with a number of Florida provisional driver's license restrictions that you will have to observe.
Florida Drivers License - 18 Years of Age and Older
If you are at least 18 years of age, you do not need to meet the graduated license requirements prior to applying for a drivers license in Florida, however you must still take the same tests and receive a Florida drivers permit first. Start by completing the four hour TLASAE course. Once done, visit the DMV for your permit, vision and hearing exam. Once you receive a learners permit, practice driving with a licensed friend or grab a few professional driving lessons. There is no minimum amount of time that you need to hold a permit for before you apply for a Florida drivers license, but the DMV recommends that you get as much practice as possible before you chance the drivers license test.
In order to achieve a Florida drivers license, you will be required to take a number of tests. These tests were designed to evaluate whether you have the skills required for operating a vehicle and are physically fit to drive. Every Florida driver license applicant has to take a vision exam, a learners permit test and a road skills test.
Your driving privilege will be revoked if you are unable to meet the rules of vision standards. To pass, you must meet the following vision standards with or without corrective lenses:
- 20/40 or better vision in each eye with or without corrective lenses meets state requirements without referral to an eye specialist.
- 20/50 or worse vision in either eye with or without corrective lenses are referred to an eye specialist for possible improvement.
- 20/70 or worse vision in either eye, or both eyes together may pass with or without corrective lenses.
- If one eye is blind or 20/200 or worse, the other eye must be 20/40 or better.
- The use of telescopic lenses to meet visual standards is not recognized in Florida.
Drivers Permit Test
The drivers permit test features questions on driving laws, safe driving practices and road signs. The test has 40 questions, 20 of them cover the road rules and other 20 cover the road signs. You need to answer at least 15 questions correctly on each section of the permit test. The questions are based on the materials put forth in the drivers license handbook, so you may find all answers to Florida drivers permit test questions there.
If you are unsure of whether you are prepared to take the real DMV permit test, you can try to take a few Florida driver's practice tests. Taking a drivers license practice test should help you evaluate your current level of preparation and identify the driving rules you may have missed while studying.
Teenagers have the option of taking their drivers permit test through their high school or driving school as part of their TLSAE program.
Drivers License Test
The driver's test is the final step in the process of applying for a Florida drivers license. Passing the Florida driver's license test proves that you have the knowledge required to operate a motor vehicle and you are able to put that knowledge to practical use. You have to make an appointment for the driving test with the DMV as walk ins are not acceptable. You must also provide a vehicle that is registered and insured, the DMV does not offer vehicles for drivers testing.
If you pass the drivers license test, the examiner will give you your Florida driver's license right there on the spot.
You will need to present the following documents when applying for a Florida driving license:
- proof of identification
- proof of birth date
- proof of residential address
- Social Security Card
- proof of completion of the TLSAE program
- a parental consent form and proof of school attendance (if you are under 18 years of age)
If you have doubts as to what documents qualify for proof of identity, please check the Florida DHSMV website or the drivers handbook.