Drivers Education - Tag
Research is showing that more teens are putting off getting their Iowa drivers license for longer periods than previous generations. Experts have found that modern teens just aren’t that interested in driving. The Iowa Department of Transportation has recorded that the number of teenagers with a driver’s license or an Iowa drivers permit has plummeted by 20,000 between 2001 and 2012. This new trend has been attributed to many different factors including: The economy, new shifts in teenage priorities and a changing social environment.
Couple of days ago, DriversEd.com has launched its Texas drivers education class designed for those trying to get a drivers license between the ages of 18 and 24 years. This new online drivers education class consists of six hour of online instructions, however before you can complete the program, you have to visit a local UPS store and undergo a personal verification procedure. This new adult drivers education class for Texas compliments the Texas parent taught drivers education course #108 that is currently offered for license applicants under the age of 18 years.
Due to the recent changes to licensing laws in Texas, all Texas drivers license applicants under 24 years of age must take some form of a drivers education course. Drivers under the age of 18 have to take an extensive parent taught drivers education class while those between 18 and 24 can get by just by taking a short six hour adult drivers education class. What if you are 17 ½ years old now and wish to apply for a drivers license? Should you start taking a parent taught class or should you wait for six months and complete the adult drivers education course? We will try to help you answer this question by explaining what each class consist of and what procedures you must follow when taking one or the other.
According to the statement provided on the TDTSEA main page, students who ordered their Texas parent taught drivers education course #106 after August 5, 2010, will experience a delay in package delivery. The delay is caused by an overload of the printing shop that was producing the course materials for TDTSEA. Parent taught course materials will not be sent out until at least September 1st. If you are in the rush to start your Texas drivers education course, you may want to choose an online course or order a book package from a different provider.
Most states around the country treat traffic safety very seriously and Iowa is no exception with its graduated drivers license system that targets drivers under 18 years of age. The Iowa graduated drivers license system aims at reducing the number of violations and traffic accidents that involve teenage drivers and it achieves these goals with introducing compulsory drivers education classes and extended holding period for learner's permits and intermediate drivers licenses. The graduate drivers license system in Iowa also utilizes a number of additional restrictions that apply only to teenage drivers. Those who break the graduated license restrictions have to go through a Remedial Driver Improvement program, in severe cases the driving privilege may be suspended or withdrawn.
A new law which will go into effect this September will require all Virginia parents to take a 90 minute drivers education course. The class will educate parents on the dangers of teen driving and highlight the restrictions that are posed onto the drivers who are under 18 years of age. Teens won't be granted a driver's license unless their parents present proof that they completed one of these classes.
According to the recent bill that was passed on in Texas, the Department of Public Safety will start publishing the statistics on crash rates among drivers ed graduates. The statistics will show specific Texas drivers ed schools and companies and crash rates among students who completed their drivers education classes with these companies. This will allow students to make more educated decisions when the time comes to select the drivers education program and also help the Department to identify driving schools that are not doing a great job at teaching drivers ed.
The lawmakers in North Carolina are discussing the possibility of ending the state funding of drivers education classes. At the moment, the state pays the full amount for every student who goes through drivers ed prior to obtaining a drivers license, which costs over $30 million a year.
According to the current licensing law, if you want to get your drivers license, you have to complete a state-approved drivers education course. Fitting a drivers education program into a busy schedule can be somewhat difficult and Texas Education Agency (TEA) recognizes this problem. This is why all Texas residents have a number or convenient option for completing the class - you can take drivers ed at your high school, complete a drivers education through a commercial driving school or simply sign up for one the of the Texas parent taught drivers education courses.
If you live in Wisconsin and would like to get a drivers license before you turn 18, you will have to complete a state-approved drivers education class. Although the Department of Transportation does not require everyone else to take a driver ed course, you may still wish to do so for your own benefit.