Permit Test - Category
No matter how old you are at the moment, if you want to apply for a drivers license in Arizona and you don't have a drivers license issued by another state, you will need to take a 2013 Arizona permit test. The Arizona drivers permit test covers the current traffic laws, road signs and safe driving techniques. The minimum age for taking an Arizona DMV permit test is 15 years, 6 months, but you can start studying the drivers handbook and take a permit practice test for AZ much earlier, to give yourself sufficient time to prepare for the real exam at the DMV.
When you finally decide to apply for a Washington drivers license, one of the first steps you'll make is taking the 2013 Washington permit test. You will need to take the permit test no matter whether you are a teenager applying for your first instruction permit or an adult who is going right for the license. The 2013 Washington state permit test allows the state to exam your knowledge of the driving rules, road signs and safe driving techniques and make the decision whether you are fit to get out on the road. Make sure to check out the free Washington permit practice test before you hit the office!
If this is the first drivers license you are applying for, you will need to start by taking the 2013 Virginia permit test. The DMV permit test covers the road signs, traffic rules and safe driving practices and it's main goal is to test whether you know the driving rules well enough to start your driving lessons. You have three attempts at passing your 2013 DMV VA permit test before the state forces you to take a mandatory drivers education program, so make sure to invest some time into studying for the permit test and take a free 2013 DMV practice test VA sample quiz before you hit the real thing!
No matter how old you are when you decide to apply for a drivers license, you still have to take the 2013 New Jersey permit test. The NJ permit test is the same no matter what type of the learners permit you are applying for - a special learners permit or an examination permit. The NJ DMV permit test was designed to evaluate your knowledge of traffic laws and road signs in order to ensure that you are able to read the road and react adequately to the ever-changing on-road conditions.
When you are applying for a drivers license in NC, you are required to take the 2013 North Carolina permit test. The test for a learners permit assesses your knowledge of the state driving rules and allows the state to make a decision whether you are fit to get on the public roads. The NC permit test is administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and you can take the test at any exam stations around the state. You don't have to make an appointment for the NC DMV permit test, you can just walk in and take the test any time during the regular business hours.
One of the biggest differences between the licensing procedure in New Hampshire and other states is that New Hampshire is probably the only place in the country that allows you to get behind the wheel and start driving without taking a learners permit test first. In fact, there is no such thing as a drivers permit in New Hampshire and teenagers can start driving with parents as soon as they are of the legal age. This is highly unusual as there is simply nothing that could explain why the state would allow people behind the wheel without making sure that they at least know the state traffic rules and driving laws. In New Hampshire, the 2013 written DMV test is taken prior to applying for a drivers license, along with a regular drivers test.
Unless you currently hold a valid drivers license issued by another state, you will have to take a learners permit test while applying for a Maine drivers license. The 2013 Maine permit test covers the state driving rules, traffic regulations, road signs and safe driving practices, including questions on effects of alcohol and drugs on driver's reaction times. In Maine, permit testing is conducted by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles on appointment-only basis, you cannot just turn up the test any time you want. You should note that approximately half of the first time applicants fail their Maine BMV permit test the first time they take it, so you should invest good time into preparing for the exam.
If you are applying for a Rhode Island drivers license or learners permit, you will be required to take a learners permit test that covers the state driving rules, traffic signs and safe driving practices. If you are under 18 years of age, you may take the 2013 Rhode Island permit test through the same agency that provides your drivers education program, the Community College of Rhode Island. Everyone else takes the RI permit test at the testing station in Pawtucket that is administered by the Rhode Island Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You have to be at least 16 years of age in order to be eligible for taking the Rhode Island permit test in 2013.
When you finally choose to apply for a drivers license in the state of Montana, you will have to take the 2013 Montana permit test. The drivers permit test covers the state driving laws, traffic signs and safe driving habits and is mandatory for all first time license applicants. The 2013 Montana learners permit test is conducted by the Motor Vehicle Division on the appointment-only basis, so you should schedule the test well in advance. Keep in mind that more than a half of all first time permit test takers fail the exam, so you should spend some time preparing for it. Taking a free Montana permit practice test can help you decide whether you are ready for the real thing.
If you want to get a drivers license in Kentucky, you will have to take the KY permit test that is administered by the Kentucky State Police License Examiner. The 2013 Kentucky permit test was designed to assess the applicant's knowledge of the state driving rules and safe driving practices. The passing score for the Kentucky drivers permit test is 80%, however you should aim at 100% on your Kentucky practice permit test.