DMV - Category
If you want to get a license in California, you will have to go through the 2013 California permit test, no matter how old you are at the moment. The CA permit test is administered by the DMV and you can take it at any local DMV office, it consists of a number of questions on the state driving law, road signs and safe driving practices. If this is your first time taking the permit test in California or in any other state, you may want to check out the California practice permit test before you go in for the real thing.
Driving is a responsibility, not a right - we all heard this phrase more than once. However, another responsibility that we have is raising the safe driving awareness among thousands of teenage drivers who hit the roads for the first time every year. The Mobile Country Public Schools in Alabama are doing a great job with the annual Drivers Ed Road-E-O event, the experience that teaches teenage drivers how to respect the potential dangers of the road and brings public attention to the current issues.
The Iowa Department of Transportation is implementing the new program for the drivers license issuance. Most of the rules and procedures remain the same - you still need to jump through all the hoops before you get your Iowa driver's license, however starting April 19 you will not get the license on the spot at the DOT office.
This year, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles is taking additional steps to ensure the safety of teenage drivers and those who surround them on the road. Additional restrictions were introduced to the New York graduated license (GDL) system.
The Department of Public Safety in Texas issued a new set of custom license plates. The state is expecting to receive at least $25 millions in sales over the next five years.
The recent changes in the legislative system in Indiana saw the Graduated Drivers License system going into effect in July 2010. But the battle for road safety does not stop there. The lawmakers are seeking to improve the system even further by introducing the compulsory drivers education classes for all Indiana drivers license applicants.
Quite recently, the DPS in Texas issued a press release regarding the new driving laws that are to go into effect on September 01, 2009. Among all other things, the press release states that the minimum number of driving hours for those who are taking a drivers education class should be increased from 14 to 34 hours, something that caused quite a ripple among the parents and the driver’s education students.
A recent change in the legislative acts will affect the new Texas drivers license applicants and those who already hold a learners permit or a license.
Shelby county schools are utilizing the technologies to alert staff to visitors who appear in the sex offender registry. The county has employed the V-soft program that checks the drivers license of school visitors and checks it against the registry.
The drivers license applicants in Texas are experiencing long delays when applying for their license. The DPS officials say that a computer virus is to blame.