Pages added in 2011
If you have never held a drivers license issued by a different country or state and would like to get a license in Pennsylvania, you will have to start by applying for a Pennsylvania learners permit. A learners permit will give you a great chance to practice driving before you try to take a driving test. You can apply for a Pennsylvania drivers permit is you are at least 16 years of age, however if you are under 18 years of age, you will have to meet the graduated license requirements before a permit can be issued to you. Research the subject to make sure that your application for a PennDOT learners permit goes as smoothly as possible.
If you are trying to obtain a drivers license in Illinois and you have never been licensed in another state, you will be required to take the Illinois drivers test at some point. If you are under 18 years of age, you may be able to take your Illinois drivers license test as part of the drivers education program if your drivers ed provider participates in the Cooperative Driver Testing Program. If you want to make sure that you pass the Illinois driving test the first time you take it, you should get as much driving practice hours as you can prior to chancing the real road exam. The Secretary of State recommends that you receive at least 50 hours of supervised driving instruction prior to taking a drivers license test, however there is no law that prevents you from exceeding this time.
In some cases, the Secretary of State may have to place one or more restrictions onto your Illinois driver's license. These restrictions may limit your driving privilege to operating a vehicle when certain conditions are met. One of the most common Illinois drivers license restriction is the requirement to drive during daylight hours only, which is applied to drivers with poor vision. Illinois provisional driver's license restrictions are part of the state graduated driver's license system and should only be observed by those who are under 18 years of age. If you have any questions regarding Illinois driver's license restriction codes, you can call your local SOS office for assistance.
In most situations, drivers license endorsements are used for granting you additional driving privileges without having you to apply for a different type of drivers license. Most of the Illinois driver's license endorsements apply to commercial drivers licenses and thus won't be useful to those who currently hold a regular class C license. However, there are exceptions to this trend, such as a motorcycle endorsement. A motorcycle endorsement can be added to any regular drivers license.
Trying to get a drivers license and never been licensed before? In this case, you will have to start by applying for an Illinois learners permit first. You must be at least 15 years old in order to be able to submit your application for an Illinois drivers permit and if you are under 18 years of age, you must be signed up for a state-approved drivers education class, due to the current graduated license rules. Although drivers who are 18 years and older do not need to follow the graduated license rules, they still have to apply for a permit prior to receiving a drivers license.
Those who have never been licensed before may be humbled by the amount of information that falls onto them when they are trying to research how they can apply for an Illinois drivers license. Do I need to follow the graduated driver's license rules, what tests am I to take, do I have to take any drivers education course before I can submit my application? All these and many other questions come to one's mind when he decides that it's time to get a license. We will try to break the application procedure into a number of simple steps that you can follow, hopefully this will get you started help you figure our the easiest way for you to apply for an Illinois driver license.
Applying for a Florida learners permit is the first step on the road towards achieving a drivers license. The minimum age for submitting your application for Florida drivers permit is 15 years. The application procedure will require you to prove that you know the state driving rules and are physically fit to drive, so be prepared to take a Florida learners permit test and a vision exam. If you have any medical conditions that may impair your driving ability, you must report them to the Florida DMV at the time when you submit your application for a Florida learner's permit.
If you have never been licensed before, applying for a New York driver's license may seem like a very confusing business. Where do you go, what do you do, how do you start the application process? We advise that you start by obtaining a copy of the New York drivers license handbook, the book that is published and distributed by the New York Department of Motor Vehicles free of charge. The book has a detailed description of the licensing procedure and is of great value to anyone who is applying for an NYS driver license. Teenagers should pay close attention to the New York graduated driver's license program that is described in the book as the program sets a number of additional restrictions and requirements that apply to all drivers license applicants under 18 years of age.
Those who never held a Texas drivers license and would like to start driving some time in the future will have to undergo a series of tests before they can hit the road and taking a Texas permit test at the DPS is the first step of the process. The 2013 Texas DMV practice test is a great way for you to get prepared for the exam. You may be able to find a DMV Texas practice test on the Department of Public Safety website or at one of many private websites that either offer a free Texas DMV practice test 2013 or may charge you a small fee for accessing these study materials. Practice sample tests produce the best results if you read the official DPS drivers handbook before you start taking the tests.
In most situations, drivers license endorsements are used for granting you additional driving privileges without having you to apply for a different type of drivers license. Most of the California driver's license endorsements apply to commercial drivers licenses and thus won't be useful to those who currently hold a regular class C license. However, there are exceptions to this trend, such as a motorcycle endorsement. A motorcycle endorsement can be added to any regular drivers license.