Pages added in June 2010
Teenage drivers have the highest risk of being involved in a traffic accident among all age groups. This is why the procedure for obtaining a drivers license for teens is usually quite different for those who are under 18 years of age and adult drivers. North Carolina has its own version of a graduated drivers license system that mandates the licensing procedure for teenage drivers. The North Carolina graduated license system is very alike to the graduated license laws in many other states and it breaks the licensing procedure into a number of consecutive steps.
When you are applying for a drivers license in NC, you are required to take the 2013 North Carolina permit test. The test for a learners permit assesses your knowledge of the state driving rules and allows the state to make a decision whether you are fit to get on the public roads. The NC permit test is administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and you can take the test at any exam stations around the state. You don't have to make an appointment for the NC DMV permit test, you can just walk in and take the test any time during the regular business hours.
Finally got your learners permit and ready to go for a drive? Congratulations, this is a big step towards your full license, however you have to remember that there are certain Georgia learners permit restrictions that must be observed at all times. Permit restrictions are there to prevent new drivers from getting into trouble and they are supposed to discourage you from taking actions that are considered to be dangerous.
Georgia has its own version of the graduated drivers license program, which comes under the name of Joshua's law. The bill was passed during the 2005 Senate's General Assembly and went into effect on January 1, 2007. Georgia graduated license laws mandate the licensing procedure for drivers who are under 18 years of age and sets a number of additional restrictions for youngsters.
One of the biggest differences between the licensing procedure in New Hampshire and other states is that New Hampshire is probably the only place in the country that allows you to get behind the wheel and start driving without taking a learners permit test first. In fact, there is no such thing as a drivers permit in New Hampshire and teenagers can start driving with parents as soon as they are of the legal age. This is highly unusual as there is simply nothing that could explain why the state would allow people behind the wheel without making sure that they at least know the state traffic rules and driving laws. In New Hampshire, the 2013 written DMV test is taken prior to applying for a drivers license, along with a regular drivers test.
In May, US senators discussed some changes to the current licensing procedure for teenage drivers. One of the main points was raising the unrestricted driving age to 18. At the moment, the minimum unrestricted license age varies between states and in some places it is as low as 16. US senators were looking into the possibility of introducing uniform graduated drivers license laws for the whole country.
Lack of driving experience is one of the major risk factors when it comes to driving. New drivers simply don't have the skills required to recognize a situation that can potentially lead to a traffic accident. This the reason why the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) sets a number of restrictions that apply to all Ohio temporary instruction permit holders, commonly known as Ohio learners permit restrictions. If you receive your temporary permit before you turn 18, you will also need to observe additional rules that are part of the graduated drivers license program. Make sure you know what Ohio temporary permit restrictions apply to you and follow them whenever you are behind the wheel, failure to observe these rules may result in your driving privileges being suspended or revoked.
Today, most of the states have graduated license programs that were designed to keep young drivers safe during their first years of driving. Ohio is no exception to this rule and the Ohio graduated drivers license program features the same key elements as GDL programs of other states, such as mandatory drivers education programs, supervised driving hours and prolonged drivers permit holding periods. The Ohio graduated license program applies only to drivers under age of 18, so if you are already 18 years old, you may follow a simplified application procedure when trying to obtain your Ohio drivers license. Keep in mind that even though most of the GDL rules don't apply to you, you will still have to take the Ohio permit test!
Those who already have a driving permit probably remember the thrill you experience you when you go for your first drive. However, driving is not a ride on a roller coaster, it is far more dangerous and many people tend to forget that. This is why Pennsylvania, just like most other states, enforces a number of learners permit restrictions that prevent new drivers from getting into trouble. The driving permit rules and restrictions differ for drivers that come from different age groups, but they all have the same intent - to reduce the risk of you being involved in a traffic accident. Please remember to observe all Pennsylvania permit restrictions while driving with your learners permit, when you break the rules you endanger yourself and other drivers who surround you on public roads.
The graduated drivers license system in Pennsylvania is very similar to graduated license laws in other states around the country. The Pennsylvania graduated driver's license program targets drivers who are under 18 years of age and it governs the licensing procedure for this age group. Teenage drivers have the highest crash rates among all age groups and the graduated drivers license program was developed specifically to address this issue.