Pages added on 18 June 2010
When you receive your first learners permit, whether it's a graduated instruction permit or an operator permit, it comes with a number of permit restrictions that must be observed immaculately. Arizona learners permit restrictions were designed to keep you safe until you gain some driving experience. A separate set of Arizona graduated drivers license restrictions were also devised for teenage drivers.
Just like most states nowadays, Arizona has its own version of the graduated drivers license program that targets teenage drivers and aims at reducing the number of casualties on the road. Teenage drivers have the highest crash rates among drivers of any other age group due to a number of reasons and the Arizona graduated drivers license program sets additional requirements and restrictions that must be observed by all teenage drivers. If you apply for an Arizona drivers license before you turn 18, your license will be marked as a G (graduated) license and you will be subject to all restrictions attributable to this type a license.
No matter how old you are at the moment, if you want to apply for a drivers license in Arizona and you don't have a drivers license issued by another state, you will need to take a 2013 Arizona permit test. The Arizona drivers permit test covers the current traffic laws, road signs and safe driving techniques. The minimum age for taking an Arizona DMV permit test is 15 years, 6 months, but you can start studying the drivers handbook and take a permit practice test for AZ much earlier, to give yourself sufficient time to prepare for the real exam at the DMV.