Pages added in May 2010
Obtaining a learner's permit may be somewhat overwhelming and intoxicating and there is a good reason for it - you can finally get behind the wheel and go for your first drive. However, new inexperienced drivers pose a great threat to themselves and other drivers around them. This is why almost every state implements certain permit restrictions and Illinois is not an exception. The main purpose of having a learners permit is to obtain some driving experience in a relatively safe environment and Illinois driving permit restrictions are there to ensure that you don't overstep the boundaries. Please remember that not observing the Illinois driving permit rules puts you and those around you in danger and will most likely see you lose your driving privilege.
Just like in many other states, the procedure that needs to be followed for obtaining a Michigan drivers license depends on the age of the applicant. In fact, even the type of a drivers permit that you get depends on your age. Applicants who are under 18 years of age are subject to the Michigan graduated license law and they are issued with a level 1 and level 2 restricted driver licenses before they can get a full license. Those who choose to apply for a drivers license after they turn 18 are issued with a temporary instruction permit. All of these permitting documents come with certain permit restrictions and observance of these rules is mandatory. Failure to observe the Michigan driving permit rules will result in your permit being suspended or canceled.
Lack of driving experience is probably the number one cause of traffic accidents. This is why when you apply for a drivers license, you are issued with a learners permit first. The learners permit comes with numerous restrictions, the main one being that you can only drive while being supervised by a more experienced driver. In Kentucky, permit restrictions depend on the age of the licensee and include, but are not limited to, a curfew, passenger restrictions and mandatory driver safety classes. If you choose to ignore these Kentucky driving permit rules, you will most likely lose your driving privilege and be awarded with a handsome fine.
The latest edition of the Kentucky graduated drivers license program was introduced on October 1, 2006. The graduated driver license requirements apply to everyone who chooses to apply for a Kentucky drivers license before he or she turns 18. The program addresses the issue of high crash rates among teenage drivers and utilizes a number of restrictions that were designed to improve the current situation. Today, similar graduated license programs are used by most states around the country and their effectiveness has be statistically proven.
The graduated drivers license system is a set of laws and requirements that apply to all driver license applicants who are under 18 years of age. The graduated license system in Michigan is similar to analogous programs currently utilized in other states around the country and it aims at reducing the number of traffic accidents among teenage drivers. The Michigan graduated drivers license system divides the licensing procedure into a number of stages, each step designed to teach the applicant a new set of skills or acquire additional experience before proceeding to the next level. The distinguishing trademark of the Michigan graduated license law is the fact that parents can affect how long their child stays at any given stage of the program. The state designates the minimum requirements for every stage, but the parents can extend these requirements if they find that the student has not gained enough proficiency on the current level.
Unless you currently hold a valid drivers license issued by another state, you will have to take a learners permit test while applying for a Maine drivers license. The 2013 Maine permit test covers the state driving rules, traffic regulations, road signs and safe driving practices, including questions on effects of alcohol and drugs on driver's reaction times. In Maine, permit testing is conducted by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles on appointment-only basis, you cannot just turn up the test any time you want. You should note that approximately half of the first time applicants fail their Maine BMV permit test the first time they take it, so you should invest good time into preparing for the exam.
There are 8 state-approved parent taught drivers education classes currently offered in Texas and course #104, provided by the Curb Buster, is one of them. Curb Buster offers both a CD ROM and a book version of the class. Unfortunately, the online parent taught course is still pending approval at the time, so you will not be able to fulfill your drivers education requirements on the web with this program.
A new law which will go into effect this September will require all Virginia parents to take a 90 minute drivers education course. The class will educate parents on the dangers of teen driving and highlight the restrictions that are posed onto the drivers who are under 18 years of age. Teens won't be granted a driver's license unless their parents present proof that they completed one of these classes.
Wisconsin will follow up other states in the move to make public roads safer by introducing a ban on texting behind the wheel. The law will go into effect on Dec 1, 2010 and drivers who choose to ignore the law can be slapped with a fine as high as $400.
Florida was one of the first states in the country that recognized the dangers faced by teenage drivers on the road. According to the statistics, the crash rate for 16 year old drivers is 15 times that of drivers who have more than 4 years of driving experience. Florida graduated license system was developed in order to reduce the mortality among teenage drivers and went into effect in 1996. Results speak for themselves - in 1997 Florida saw a 9% reduction in fatalities and injury crashes for teenage drivers aged 15 to 17 years old. This fact clearly proves the necessity of the graduated drivers license system.